cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
thinkfly
Punch Card
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎08-08-2011
Location: London
Views: 16,147
Message 1 of 120

X220 3G mobile broadband problem with F5521gw

Every several hours the connection drops, and without disabling and re-enabling the 3G mobile broadband F5521gw in Device Manager I am unable to re-connect.


I have tried different network operators in different areas, all the same problem regardless of signal strength.


Do I have a faulty modem?


I tried to install the latest driver from Lenovo but that doesn't seem to affect the driver version of the modem at all.


Any suggestions?

juhani_suhonen
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-11-2011
Location: Finland
Views: 16,081
Message 2 of 120

Re: X220 3G mobile broadband problem with F5521gw

I have exactly the same problem even after replacing 3G mobile adapter with new one
thinkfly
Punch Card
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎08-08-2011
Location: London
Views: 16,052
Message 3 of 120

Re: X220 3G mobile broadband problem with F5521gw

So it's not likely a problem with the specific sample of the 3G adapter I've got?

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 1,952
Registered: ‎12-02-2007
Location: AU
Views: 16,028
Message 4 of 120

Re: X220 3G mobile broadband problem with F5521gw

3G as a service offering is only semi-standardised in global terms, and local conditions (both at business and tecnology levels) have a significant impact on user experience.

 

I travel widely with 3G devices, including an F5521gw in an X220, and have found across all the devices that they may   work quite adequately in one country but may be  less than satisfactory in the next, mostly due to local variations in the way that ISPs provision their 3G services in each country.

 

Something more in terms of an issue description, beyond "it doesn't work as I expected it to", is necessary to even start considering what your problems might be! Smiley Surprised


Cheers,

 

Bill

------------------------------
I don't work for Lenovo
bob12345
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-17-2011
Location: Australia
Views: 15,760
Message 5 of 120

Re: X220 3G mobile broadband problem with F5521gw

Hi there Thinkfly,

 

I have the same problem with my X220T and Ericsson F5521gw WWAN card. I posted a message on the X220T forums a few weeks ago without any resolution.

 

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/X-Series-Tablet-ThinkPad-Laptops/Ericsson-F5521gw-WWAN-disconnects-inter...

 

I have also sent my laptop back to Lenovo and had the WWAN card swapped, however it did not resolve the issue. I am in Australia. I've tried this with "3" and "Telstra". Telstra works better than 3, however both disconnect after a few hours & cannot reconnect without turning the computer off/on. I don't mind so much that the WWAN disconnects, but more annoying is the fact that I cannot reconnect without turning the computer off / on.

 

Interestingly, a guy from Germany with an HP laptop and an Ericsson F5521gw has the same problem and had his WWAN card changed, without any resolution.

 

Cheers,

 

Bob12345

 

 

mark23
Punch Card
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-21-2011
Location: Germany
Views: 15,690
Message 6 of 120

Re: X220 3G mobile broadband problem with F5521gw

Try opening a DOS-box and type "ping www.google.com -t" to generate some sort of keepalive traffic. That will keep the connection from being dropped because it's idle - that's the only way I figured out to keep a stable WWAN connection.

Cheers,

mark23

motomandk
Punch Card
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎05-13-2011
Location: DK
Views: 15,666
Message 7 of 120

Re: X220 3G mobile broadband problem with F5521gw

Friday and saturday last week i was attending a course and wanted to test the stability of the WAN connection since it seems that some people have issues.

The connection was running about 6 hours both days, and i didn't notice any drop-outs.  The mail was also running, polling the mail-server each minute.

/Henrik - Denmark
X220 - i7-2620, 8GB, 128GB Samsung 830 SSD (I just LOVE my X220!) - and still after 6 years of service, running Win10 like a charm!
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 1,952
Registered: ‎12-02-2007
Location: AU
Views: 15,642
Message 8 of 120

Re: X220 3G mobile broadband problem with F5521gw


@bob12345 wrote:

Telstra works better than 3, however both disconnect after a few hours & cannot reconnect without turning the computer off/on. I don't mind so much that the WWAN disconnects, but more annoying is the fact that I cannot reconnect without turning the computer off / on. 

 


I have an X220 with a F5521gw, runnig on Win 7 x64, and it holds up a post-paid Telstra Mobile Broadband NextG connection for several hours (day long businesss workshops) without any issues.

 

Have you checked the power management option in the device driver for the WWAN card?  If it is enabled, you might want to try it disabling it.

 

Cheers,

 

Bill

------------------------------
I don't work for Lenovo
motomandk
Punch Card
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎05-13-2011
Location: DK
Views: 15,597
Message 9 of 120

Re: X220 3G mobile broadband problem with F5521gw

Despite my former post, i actually had problems yesterday.  3 times during the evening, i lost connection (eventhough the signal was fine) and it wasn't possible to re-connect until i rebooted the X220.

I will try again today ....... the driver is Ericsson 13/4-2011 5.28.4.0 (i use automatic update from Lenovo, so i guess it is the latest)

/Henrik - Denmark
X220 - i7-2620, 8GB, 128GB Samsung 830 SSD (I just LOVE my X220!) - and still after 6 years of service, running Win10 like a charm!
bob12345
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-17-2011
Location: Australia
Views: 15,497
Message 10 of 120

Re: X220 3G mobile broadband problem with F5521gw

Can the people who haven't noticed problems so far try this?

 

1. Connect to 3G internet through Ericsson WWAN card.

2. While connected to the internet, carry the X220 somewhere with no reception e.g. into the basement levels and wait for it to disconnect.

3. Bring it back to ground level and try to reconnect

 

Does it reconnect or does it require power off/on cycle?

 

For me, it does require power off/on if I go through these steps.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors