Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-05-2011
Location: Israel
0 Kudos

X220 64-bit virtoalization not work

I use x220 / Windows 7 64bit / VMWare WS 8.

I enabled the virtoalization in the BIOS.

 

Still get error msg that it can't run 64bit guests because the HW virtoalization is not able.

 

Any ideas ?

 

Arnon

Punch Card
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎10-21-2011
Location: United States
0 Kudos

Re: X220 64-bit virtoalization not work

 

I originally had an issue with Virtualization because I didn't have the virtualization enabled under the security tab in the BIOS but I fixed that and I run Oracle Virtual box with a 64bit win server 2008 R2 without any problems.

 

 


X220~i5 2520M~8GB~Vertex2~IPS~Win7Prox64~ It's amazing.
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-05-2011
Location: Israel
0 Kudos

Re: X220 64-bit virtoalization not work

Any idea why VMWare can't work ?
Punch Card
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎10-21-2011
Location: United States
0 Kudos

Re: X220 64-bit virtoalization not work

 

Unfortunately I only have experience with Virtualbox

 

 


X220~i5 2520M~8GB~Vertex2~IPS~Win7Prox64~ It's amazing.
Token Ring
Posts: 220
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Location: boston
0 Kudos

Re: X220 64-bit virtoalization not work

check intel site to see if the cpu suprots it.
not all do.
intel has a crazy way of selling a huge amout of the same thing like tons of cpu with surport for one thing but not the other.
normally the cheaper range dont surport key features.
you get what you pay for with intel.
virt requires both bios and cpu level surport and whats funny on intel is some high range cpu lack it on a certin model.
why with intel i really look at key features for a notebook cpu.
i look at the reviews as well like notebook check.
if you list the cpu i will look it up or just go to intel site.
there so many intel cpu it hard to know what because even on the higher end ones they do something different once in a while with no ryhmm or reason to it.
i seen this disable on certin select chip before i liked.