cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
vegan-fanatic
Token Ring
Posts: 344
Registered: ‎05-27-2017
Location: CA
Views: 1,675
Message 1 of 10

X220 RAM compatibility

I am aware of 2 main types of memory. SODIMM with 4 chips a side and 8 chips on a side.

 

My old T500 is more sensitive to memory and it cannot use 4 chip per side DDR3 memory.

 

My X220 is more recent but I stick to 8 chip memory mainly as if I upgrade I can toss the memory down the food chain.

 

So can the X220 use 4 chip memory?

 

I own: T400 T500 X220 X230 all running Windows 10 Professional
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 3,934
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Location: CH
Views: 1,653
Message 2 of 10

Re: X220 RAM compatibility

The xx20 generation ThinkPad is less picky to RAM in my experience, (as long as you avoid any no-name and "value" lines). So I think it should work... I don't recall which RAM I'm using in my X220's though....

 

-

L40SX/240/240X/340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/570/600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E/A20p/A22/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/T22/T4x/T6x/T4x0/T5x0/W5x0/W700/X1/X2x/X3x/X4x/X6x/X6xT/X2xx/X200T/X30x/Z60m/Z61x



Español Comunidad en Español  English English Community  Deutsche Deutsche Community   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Untitled-4.png
vegan-fanatic
Token Ring
Posts: 344
Registered: ‎05-27-2017
Location: CA
Views: 1,651
Message 3 of 10

Re: X220 RAM compatibility

I have run into a lot of problems with memory that does not have 8 chips on each side which is why I asked about the 4 chip type which are in the JEDEC spec but I inquired to see if others have had issues.

 

Try CPU-Z which might be able to find the memory make and model.

 

I own: T400 T500 X220 X230 all running Windows 10 Professional
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 3,934
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Location: CH
Views: 1,640
Message 4 of 10

Re: X220 RAM compatibility


@vegan-fanatic wrote:

 

Try CPU-Z which might be able to find the memory make and model. 


Removing the RAM door was faster... Smiley Very Happy

 

Just checked, my three X220 have Corsair Vengeance RAM, which are 8 chips pro side. I had the impression I was using 4 chips RAM in some xx20 gen ThinkPad, I'd need to take a look but have too many of them, I'd post here if I manage to check them...

 

-

L40SX/240/240X/340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/570/600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E/A20p/A22/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/T22/T4x/T6x/T4x0/T5x0/W5x0/W700/X1/X2x/X3x/X4x/X6x/X6xT/X2xx/X200T/X30x/Z60m/Z61x



Español Comunidad en Español  English English Community  Deutsche Deutsche Community   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Untitled-4.png
vegan-fanatic
Token Ring
Posts: 344
Registered: ‎05-27-2017
Location: CA
Views: 1,625
Message 5 of 10

Re: X220 RAM compatibility

I have searched around but while the X220 can handle 16GB of memory, the $640 question is which memory works best

I own: T400 T500 X220 X230 all running Windows 10 Professional
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 3,934
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Location: CH
Views: 1,609
Message 6 of 10

Re: X220 RAM compatibility

Well, apart from the Corsair Vengeance mentioned above (I'm using 2x 8 GB in my three X220), I also had excellent experiences with Kingston Hyper-X modules.

 

Other modules I can personally recommend are Samsung, Hynix and Elpida.

 

-

L40SX/240/240X/340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/570/600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E/A20p/A22/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/T22/T4x/T6x/T4x0/T5x0/W5x0/W700/X1/X2x/X3x/X4x/X6x/X6xT/X2xx/X200T/X30x/Z60m/Z61x



Español Comunidad en Español  English English Community  Deutsche Deutsche Community   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Untitled-4.png
GomJabbar
Punch Card
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: Denver, CO
Views: 1,601
Message 7 of 10

Re: X220 RAM compatibility

I just installed 2 x 8GB sticks of 1866 Crucial RAM in my X220. Works great (even though Crucial's site says 16 GB is not compatible with the X220)! Runs at full speed as reported by CPU-Z and passes all memory tests using the X220 Lenovo diagnostics.

http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/ct2k102464bf186d

 

I just replaced the motherboard recently with an identical model (existing motherboard would no longer suspend to RAM. Note tha it had the original Elpidia 2 x 4GB sticks installed). Fortunately the BIOS of the used replacement motherboard was at version 1.26, so I was able to make use of the full speed of the RAM (1866 vs 1333) that I bought for it.

vegan-fanatic
Token Ring
Posts: 344
Registered: ‎05-27-2017
Location: CA
Views: 1,593
Message 8 of 10

Re: X220 RAM compatibility

I have 1.26 (latest BIOS) that was fixed for whitelists. I hate the idea of claiming field replacable that is borked with a whitelist. Where I am it actually illegal to do that. But in the global markets I have to resort to arcane solutions.

 

So I come here where I know there are swarms of X220 users besides me so I can learn more to see if I can squeeze another 5 years of service out of the machine.

 

I like to joke, its not dead yet.

 

I own: T400 T500 X220 X230 all running Windows 10 Professional
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 3,934
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Location: CH
Views: 1,587
Message 9 of 10

Re: X220 RAM compatibility


@vegan-fanatic wrote:

so I can learn more to see if I can squeeze another 5 years of service out of the machine.


Well, 16GB RAM and a SSD (being mSata or 2.5") is the biggest step, modding the BIOS for higher RAM speeds wont boost speeds that much in my personal opinion. 

 

Then you have few FHD mods available, which requires soldering and much tampering with the X220, not for the faint of heart...

 

Google is your friend in this case Smiley Wink

 

-

L40SX/240/240X/340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/570/600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E/A20p/A22/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/T22/T4x/T6x/T4x0/T5x0/W5x0/W700/X1/X2x/X3x/X4x/X6x/X6xT/X2xx/X200T/X30x/Z60m/Z61x



Español Comunidad en Español  English English Community  Deutsche Deutsche Community   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Untitled-4.png
vegan-fanatic
Token Ring
Posts: 344
Registered: ‎05-27-2017
Location: CA
Views: 1,582
Message 10 of 10

Re: X220 RAM compatibility

The RAM on my X220 is under a cover on the bottom and both are easily removed and replaced. 

 

I do not understand how anyone would be so arrogant to solder memory when they know that higher capacity modules are in the standard. I read the JEDEC manuals which say what the spec should be, but Intel et al do not pay much attention to it.

 

I own: T400 T500 X220 X230 all running Windows 10 Professional

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors