cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MizBlackCrow
Paper Tape
Views: 1,218
Message 1 of 3

X220 mSATA recovery disk install hangup...

Hey all. First off-- I'm Miz Black Crow, it's my first time on the Lenovo boards, because before tonight, I had never owned a Lenovo. But I have to say, this community seems incredibly awesome in every single way, and you guys have been a MAJOR asset in deciding what laptop to buy and how to make it, well, better.

I'm the proud momma to a new-to-me, factory-refurbished X220 with an i7 2.7Ghz, 320GB 7200RPM HDD, 6GB RAM (now 16GB RAM, because yesssss), IPS screen, the works. Even came with unexpected bonuses of the webcam, fingerprint scanner AND the dock (none of which Lenovo mentioned in the listing... sweeeeeet). So, being a tinkerer, I swapped for 16GB RAM (booted fine, win7 recognized all of it), made recovery disks, pulled the HDD out, installed a 120GB OCZ Nocti mSATA drive, booted the system. The BIOS recognized the drive but, since it's a new drive, no OS. Dropped the bootable recovery disk in the oh-so-handy dock's DVD drive, ThinkVantage Product Recovery started right up. Asked me for the first data disk, which I happily obliged it with, and now it's....

...sitting. Laughing at me. Silently.

Specifically, it seems stuck on "Current Progress: preparing hard disk" (caps/nocaps Lenovo, not me). It's been sitting like that for 40 minutes. No blinking lights, no progress on the progress bar, no changes at all to tell me if it's working (and since it's an SSD, no drive spin to listen for). The only reason I haven't rebooted and tried again is that the Trackpoint function still works, so I know it hasn't locked up yet.