Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ppphhw
Blue Screen Again
Views: 9,210
Message 1 of 37

X230 suddenly powers off

I have been using my X230 for last two years without any problems and it still works fine except for one thing: very recently I have experienced a sudden power off a couple of times. I don't remember whether it was plugged but my battery is perfect for sure. While operating normally, the power suddenly went off. So I had to reboot it. This happened around 5 times last couple of weeks. 

I realized that I have never done a system update since I purchased this so I tried to do that but it doesn't work. (See my another post below for this issue.)

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

jamesfadams
Blue Screen Again
Views: 9,122
Message 2 of 37

Re: X230 suddenly powers off

I am experiencing a similar problem with my 2 year old ThinkPad x230 laptop.

In my situation, the computer goes completely dead instantly on a random basis.  It is like the power supply just disappeared.  No attempt at a normal shutdown process.  Just instantly dead with black screen and no indicator lights..

In my situation the problem happens regardless of whether the computer is operating on battery only, battery + A/C supply or just A/C supply.  (Just in case I recently ordered a new OEM 44+ battery which has not arrived.)

I have completely updated WIN 7 64 bit Pro, all drivers, and Lenovo Solution Center software.

I scanned for viruses and malware using Norton, Norton Power Eraser and Malwarebytes:  all is shown as OK.

I replaced the 180GB SSD drive with a new Samsung Model 850 SSD 500GB.  Same problem.

Ran every hardware diagnostic tool I could find on system checking SSD, memory and all other hardware.  All reports as fine.  CPU temperature is 45-52 degrees C max.  SSD temperature is about 34 degrees C.  No noticeable hot spots on case.

Updated BIOS.  Same problem.

Disabled hibernation.  Same problem.