Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
eyeP
Paper Tape
Views: 50,385
Message 1 of 28

X240 End/Insert Fn key woes

Enjoying q new X240, despite some misgivings about keyboard layout. But there is one showstopper here: as a programmer, I rely heavily on "function" keys, arrow keys, and the (now redistributed) Home/End, Pg Up/Down, and Delete keys. The one I have absolutely never relied on of that old-world six-key configuration is INSERT. A virtually useless key, as far as I'm concerned.

So, fine: by default, the X240 gives preference to a lot of non-Fn keys that I don't care about. Easy enough, toggle-lock Fn on, using Fn+ESC. But alas, some designer at Lenovo who doesn't know how actual keyboard users work has gone and put "Insert" as the Fn version of End. Hmmmm. The Fn version of Home is (wait for it) Home. Delete is Delete. Pg Up and Pg Down, check. The Fn version of End is........ INSERT?

So now I'm stopping my work constantly, trying to remember how to get to the end of a line (or block, or file, or whatever), or going back to un-overtype stuff I never meant to overtype in the first place.

While I realize it will take another decade or two for some smart manufacturer to build a laptop keyboard that actually caters to people who really use keyboards, patience aside, I'd call this a very poor decision. At the very least, it's a dealbreaker: here I find myself with what is supposed to be the latest/greatest Lenovo, and I can't get my work done without a lot of extra keyboard "shortcut" hassle.

Please, please, tell me how to turn this off, permanently. Give me back an End key, and only an End key, without forcing me out of productive use of this machine.

Puppy
Bit Torrent
Views: 50,196
Message 2 of 28

Re: X240 End/Insert Fn key woes

The same "feature" is for Helix http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/X-Series-Tablet-ThinkPad-Laptops/Helix-End-Insert-keys-swapped/td-p/1130...