Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

46 Posts

02-14-2008

Costa Rica

781 Signins

734 Page Views

  • Posts: 46
  • Registered: ‎02-14-2008
  • Location: Costa Rica
  • Views: 734
  • Message 21 of 34

Re: X240 - SSD Cache M.2

2014-02-07, 21:36 PM
Many thanks for the info! So the problem is the SSD, not the ribbon cable or the daughter board. Did you tested the faulty SSD in another PC? Many thanks for the info and pictures, this seems to be a new issue, the tech support that came did not had that much experience and I had to show he the 1st picture of this post. Regards, Oliver
Reply
Options

2 Posts

02-07-2014

France

5 Signins

39 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎02-07-2014
  • Location: France
  • Views: 39
  • Message 22 of 34

Re: X240 - SSD Cache M.2

2014-02-08, 9:12 AM

Hi,

 

I change the toshiba SSD for two reason :

1. too small

2. i can't format it 

 

So i change for the MyDigitalSSD because it's the only one i found in 42mm and M.2.
After i can format it and install windows on it, with a windows 8 DVD and a USB Recovery Key.

Now i have no problem with this M.2 SSD for windows and my other SSD in 2p1/2 slot for data, my x240 rocks.

I can't test the toshiba SSD because i have no other computer use this SSD format and no adapter.

I hope i can help.

Have a good day.
Timon

Reply
Options

46 Posts

02-14-2008

Costa Rica

781 Signins

734 Page Views

  • Posts: 46
  • Registered: ‎02-14-2008
  • Location: Costa Rica
  • Views: 734
  • Message 23 of 34

Re: X240 - SSD Cache M.2

2014-02-11, 18:17 PM
Hi Timon, many thanks for your help! It has been a very helpful thread. I'm waiting for the SSD replacement part and it will take a little bit in my region. BTW, the X240 is really hard to open. Also, there are 2 bolts that does not separate from the bottom case. I highly recommend watching the lenov videos before trying to open the X240. Official Service Videos: http://www.lenovoservicetraining.com Regards, Oliver
Reply
Options

35 Posts

01-09-2009

United States of America

72 Signins

474 Page Views

  • Posts: 35
  • Registered: ‎01-09-2009
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 474
  • Message 24 of 34

Re: X240 - SSD Cache M.2

2014-02-14, 6:09 AM

Hi, so it seems there are lots of other people with this problem. My first X240 also had the SSD M.2 error. I called up Lenovo and they say "just send it back". It took about a month to get a new X240 and now everything is working fine. I think there is definitely some sort of QA issue with this device.

 

My other question, which I have not seen an answer on this forum is "how do you tell if the SSD drive is working/helping with overall performance"?

 

I ran the eccmd program and it does spit out some stats, but I have no idea if it is really helping or not. My X240 definitely does not boot as fast as a pure SSD win7 pc.

Reply
Options

11 Posts

11-27-2013

Los Angeles, CA

11 Signins

60 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎11-27-2013
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA
  • Views: 60
  • Message 25 of 34

Re: X240 - SSD Cache M.2

2014-02-14, 6:35 AM

Interestingly, for me, after I got a few SSD detection errors at the bootup, it didn't happen anymore after a month of use.  But the Toshiba SSD is still non-functional.  I don't care about the Toshiba SSD cache, so I don't plan to send it for warranty repair unless some other problem crops up.

 

I don't think the SSD cache was intended to match a full SSD in speeds.  It only caches commonly used Windows system files on the SSD for faster startup... so I think other stuff will still load from the hard disk.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

02-17-2014

toronto

2 Signins

27 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2014
  • Location: toronto
  • Views: 27
  • Message 26 of 34

Re: X240 - SSD Cache M.2

2014-02-17, 20:25 PM

I am wondering if anyone can tell me how to disable the m.2 cache ? short of opening the whole laptop to get to the daughter card is there an easier way just to disable it ?

Reply
Options

1 Posts

02-25-2014

Canada

4 Signins

34 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎02-25-2014
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 34
  • Message 27 of 34

Re: X240 - SSD Cache M.2

2014-02-25, 21:47 PM

timon_78,

Thanks for your pictures.

Can you please tell me what kind of card do you have next to the wireless card?

Usually this slot come empty wihout any card installed.

Is it the 3G Modem card? What Brand and Model? Is it the M.2 type? How do you have it?

My x240 doesn't have this card installed, where can I get it?

Your reply is really much appreciated. Thanks.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

03-08-2014

Philly, Pa

18 Signins

151 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎03-08-2014
  • Location: Philly, Pa
  • Views: 151
  • Message 28 of 34

Re: X240 - 16gb SSD Cache M.2 replacement

2014-03-15, 16:19 PM

Thanks for the pictures. I don't think I could have found that cache location even with an x-ray machine. I replaced the 16gb cache you show in your pics with a 128gb mydigital. I also installed another 128gb mydigital ssd in the empty M.2 location near the wan module as shown on page 73 of the maintenance manual.

Your pics made it easy to find and replace the 16gb. With a little patience, I didn't need to disconnect any wiring. Needed to peel back some tape to gain enough slack in the wiring. Once I removed the 4 screws from the system board I was able move it enough to get to the screw holding that silver cover shown in your pics. That 16gb cache was right under it.

Now I have win7 32 bit, win7 64 bit and win8 64 bit on separate drives.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

04-01-2014

Belgium

1 Signins

6 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎04-01-2014
  • Location: Belgium
  • Views: 6
  • Message 29 of 34

Re: X240 - 16gb SSD Cache M.2 replacement

2014-04-01, 14:03 PM

Hello,

 

I'm about to buy a X240 but I'd like to be sure of one thing : is it possible to have at the same time the smart card reader and to have a M.2 SSD ?

From what I understand, there should be 2 M.2 slot, but if someone could confirm that to me, that would be great.

 

Thanks,

 

 

Reply
Options

13 Posts

04-07-2014

United States of America

9 Signins

65 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎04-07-2014
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 65
  • Message 30 of 34

Re: X240 - SSD Cache M.2

2014-04-07, 8:34 AM

Uninstall the Express Cache Application to stop the hangs caused with the Toshibia SSD shadow drive. This worked for me and recovered the system and it is useful now.

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms