cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
tramtrist
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-22-2018
Location: US
Views: 2,247
Message 1 of 9

X270 - 32GB RAM

Hello,

Recently Samsung announced 32GB DDR4 DIMMS.  Will these be compatible with the X270?  It seems the chipset can support them but I'd like some official word from Lenovo if possible..  And yes, before you ask... I can use 32GB it if I can get it..
Thanks!

 

Highlighted
SeniorGuru
Posts: 2,719
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: CA
Views: 2,203
Message 2 of 9

Re: X270 - 32GB RAM

Welcome to the forum.

 

Traditionally Lenovo doesn't test older ThinkPads with new, higher capacity memory that wasn't available when those ThinkPads were designed, tested and sold. So it's unlikely you'll now get an official answer.

 

All I can suggest is that you buy a 32GB module from a source that allows you to return it if for some reason it's not compatible.

__________________________________________________
Cheers... Dorian Hausman • ca.gif English community
X1C6, E470, Y900s, [R.I.P. X1C2, T430s, TPT2, SL500, X61s, T60p, A21p, 770, 760ED... 5160, 5150... S360/30]
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 9,494
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Location: US
Views: 2,190
Message 3 of 9

Re: X270 - 32GB RAM

I have not seen any 32GB DIMMs for laptops being sold yet, only desktop memory.


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
SeniorGuru
Posts: 2,719
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: CA
Views: 2,187
Message 4 of 9

Re: X270 - 32GB RAM


@richk wrote:

I have not seen any 32GB DIMMs for laptops being sold yet, only desktop memory.


Samsung Enables More Appealing Gaming Experience with Introduction of 10nm-Class 32GB DDR4 SoDIMMs

__________________________________________________
Cheers... Dorian Hausman • ca.gif English community
X1C6, E470, Y900s, [R.I.P. X1C2, T430s, TPT2, SL500, X61s, T60p, A21p, 770, 760ED... 5160, 5150... S360/30]
tramtrist
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-22-2018
Location: US
Views: 2,144
Message 5 of 9

Re: X270 - 32GB RAM

I guess I'll just wait and see...

Lenovo Employee Rydeen
Lenovo Employee
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎03-03-2017
Location: JP
Views: 2,106
Message 6 of 9

Re: X270 - 32GB RAM

Dear customer,

Unfortunately, it doesn't support 32GB DIMM.   Refer to PSRef ThinkPad X270 Specification.  It supports up to 16GB DIMM.

SeniorGuru
Posts: 2,719
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: CA
Views: 2,099
Message 7 of 9

Re: X270 - 32GB RAM


@Rydeen wrote:

Dear customer,

Unfortunately, it doesn't support 32GB DIMM.   Refer to PSRef ThinkPad X270 Specification.  It supports up to 16GB DIMM.


Are you sure?

 

I ask because PSREF shows maximum RAM based on the largest SODIMMs available at the time the model was introduced. Later, when denser SODIMMs become available PSREF doesn't get updated even if the model could support the new SODIMM.

 

This has been true going back to at least the T61/X61 series. Officially according to PSREF they could only support 4GB (2GB x 2) max. But once 4GB SODIMMs became available it was possible to put 8GB (4GB x 2) in them. Even so PSREF was never updated to reflect this.

 

Or are you saying that the X270's chipset is inherently incapable of supporting 32GB of RAM?

__________________________________________________
Cheers... Dorian Hausman • ca.gif English community
X1C6, E470, Y900s, [R.I.P. X1C2, T430s, TPT2, SL500, X61s, T60p, A21p, 770, 760ED... 5160, 5150... S360/30]
tramtrist
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-22-2018
Location: US
Views: 2,047
Message 8 of 9

Re: X270 - 32GB RAM

Exactly the question I had @hausman.  Any answer Lenovo?

derek80
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-07-2019
Location: US
Views: 1,427
Message 9 of 9

Re: X270 - 32GB RAM

I found this thread earlier in 2018, which prompted my search for an available unit.  Now that I have one, thought I'd come back and comment that it works.  Thanks!

 

The unit purchased from eBay.  It was reportedly pulled from an existing system (Dell E7270).

 

BIOS version R0IET55W (1.33)

i5-7200u processor.

20HNCTO1WW motherboard.

 

From dmidecode

Handle 0x0004, DMI type 17, 40 bytes
Memory Device
	Array Handle: 0x0003
	Error Information Handle: Not Provided
	Total Width: 64 bits
	Data Width: 64 bits
	Size: 32 GB
	Form Factor: SODIMM
	Set: None
	Locator: ChannelA-DIMM0
	Bank Locator: BANK 0
	Type: DDR4
	Type Detail: Synchronous Unbuffered (Unregistered)
	Speed: 2133 MT/s
	Manufacturer: Samsung
	Serial Number: <omitted>
	Asset Tag: None
	Part Number: M471A4G43MB1-CTD    
	Rank: 2
	Configured Memory Speed: 2133 MT/s
	Minimum Voltage: Unknown
	Maximum Voltage: Unknown
	Configured Voltage: 1.2 V

 

 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors