cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
JoeyH
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-29-2017
Location: US
Views: 2,264
Message 1 of 11

X270 Triple Montiors

Hello! I was wondering if it was possible for an X270 to support three external monitors (with the built-in display off/closed) using either a dock or a combination of the dock + onboard video ports?

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 1,803
Registered: ‎12-12-2016
Location: IN
Views: 2,235
Message 2 of 11

Re: X270 Triple Montiors

Hi JoeyH,

 

Welcome to Lenovo Community! And happy to have you here.

  

Yes this model does have a support for supports three independent displays according to psref  

 

I hope the above information helped you. 

Please feel free to post in Lenovo Community Forums if you have any further queries!


Regards,
Prabhansh
_______________________________________________
Tap that Kudos button if I helped.
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

____________________________________________________
ThinkPad T440p| Intel® Core™ i5-4300M| 2.6 GHz Dual core| 8GB
MountainX
Token Ring
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎11-21-2013
Location: US
Views: 2,096
Message 3 of 11

Re: X270 Triple Montiors

What are the actual steps for using 3 external monitors with the X270? I have the ThinkPad Ultra Dock, but we can only get two external monitors and the laptop screen to work. We cannot (yet) get three external monitors to work. How do we accomplish that? Thanks

Community SuperMod
Community SuperMod
Posts: 4,469
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Location: US
Views: 2,090
Message 4 of 11

Re: X270 Triple Montiors

Try this - let us know:

 

1. DisplayPort or HDMI

2. DisplayPort or HDMI

3. VGA

 

From the setup poster:

 

UltraDock3Displays.JPG

 

 

I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
MountainX
Token Ring
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎11-21-2013
Location: US
Views: 2,079
Message 5 of 11

Re: X270 Triple Montiors

Hi bananaman, Thanks for your reply with the nice picture. We did already plug in 3 external monitors that way, but only TWO of the external displays (plus the laptop display) work. The third external display doesn't receive a signal. Any suggestions? Thanks again.
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 6,755
Registered: ‎01-13-2008
Location: US
Views: 2,072
Message 6 of 11

Re: X270 Triple Montiors

Hi,

 

The way I read the base spec, the X270 supports 3 independent displays - one of which is the laptop's display.  Not something I've tried but that's my understanding.

 

Don't know if turning off the laptop's display will allow 3 external.  Hopefully others here can address that.

 

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

  Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Moto English

MountainX
Token Ring
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎11-21-2013
Location: US
Views: 2,059
Message 7 of 11

Re: X270 Triple Montiors

I just tried to connect three external monitors to my ThinkPad W550s and I get the same result -- only two external monitors and the laptop display receive a signal.

 

The dock is a ThinkPad UltraDock 40A2.

 

I tried various combinations of HDMI, DP and DVI connections. That doesn't appear to make a difference.

 

For the W550s, I found a Lenovo document here that makes it very clear that it supports 3 monitors in any combination, so 3 external monitors should work.

 

Are there steps I'm not aware of?

 

JoeyH
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-29-2017
Location: US
Views: 2,042
Message 8 of 11

Re: X270 Triple Montiors

I eventually did get an X270 and I am running it with three external monitors off an Ultra Dock (one VGA, one DVI, one DisplayPort) with the laptop closed.

 

I believe it may be partially a CPU thing - the integrated graphics in some intel CPUs may only support two display. Check the specs for your CPU. My x270 has an i5-7300U and it works fine.

MountainX
Token Ring
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎11-21-2013
Location: US
Views: 2,035
Message 9 of 11

Re: X270 Triple Montiors


@JoeyH wrote:

I eventually did get an X270 and I am running it with three external monitors off an Ultra Dock (one VGA, one DVI, one DisplayPort) with the laptop closed.

 

I believe it may be partially a CPU thing - the integrated graphics in some intel CPUs may only support two display. Check the specs for your CPU. My x270 has an i5-7300U and it works fine.


Thank you for that info. Your confirmation that it will work is very helpful. I'll forge ahead.

 

My X270 has the following specs (see below). WIth a Core i7 CPU, I don't think that is my issue.

 

Could it be the wattage of the adapter connected to the dock?

 

●  Intel Core i7-7600U Processor (4M Cache, 2.8GHz, max. 3.9GHz), vPro
●  Windows 10 Home 64
●  Windows 10 Home 64 English
●  12.5" FHD (1920 x 1080), IPS,Multitouch
●  16GB DDR4-2133MHz SODIMM
●  Intel HD Graphics 620
●  Hardware dTPM
●  Keyboard Backlit - English
●  3+2 Button ClickPad, Fingerprint Reader
●  Hardware dTPM2.0 Enabled
●  720p HD Camera
●  256 GB Solid State Drive OPAL2.0 PCIe-NVMe
●  Integrated Fingerprint Reader
●  3 Cell Li-Ion Front Battery (23.2Wh)
●  3 Cell Li-Ion Rear Battery (23.2Wh)
●  45W AC Adapter - US(2pin)
●  Intel Dual Band Wireless AC(2x2) 8265, Bluetooth Version 4.1, vPro
●  Qualcomm Snapdragon X7 LTE-A (Sierra Wireless EM7455)
●  12.5" FHD IPS (1920x1080) Multi-Touch LED Backlit Display with WWAN

 

Or could it be that one of the 3 external monitors must be VGA? I can't imagine that is true. VGA is the only connection I have not tried, given that it is so old. Our monitors are all HDMI or DP. To use DVI, I had to attach a DVI-to-HDMI adapter.

 

I tested with HDMI + DP and a mix of HDMI, DP and DVI.Changing connections did not make a difference.

 

I tried disabling the laptop monitor in the OS settings and I tried it with the laptop lid closed. In both cases, I end up with only two active external displays. The 3rd one never gets a signal.

 

Any further thoughts on this?

JoeyH
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-29-2017
Location: US
Views: 2,031
Message 10 of 11

Re: X270 Triple Montiors

Yeah, one of them has to be VGA. The first DisplayPort and the HDMI port are "paired" together, so that you can only use one of those two. Then the other DisplayPort and DVI port are also paired, so again it's one or the other. Then the VGA port is on it's own.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors