English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

7 Posts

06-28-2018

IT

10 Signins

124 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎06-28-2018
  • Location: IT
  • Views: 124
  • Message 41 of 66

Re: X270 generic freeze?

2018-07-03, 11:09 AM

Hyper-V has never been enabled, Intel VT is disabled by default in BIOS.

Tried with several versions of drivers, the older ones seem to be more stable, but just in the sense that the freeze takes more time to happen with respect to the last version, but sooner or later it happens. 

I have no possibility to choose every kind ov version of the driver: Windows Update automatically installs a version of last year (2017). Also if I previously installed the last generic driver from Intel site (24.20.100.6136, June 2018), Windows Update overrides it with the older version, that is from Lenovo I guess, because after this driver has been installed the system refuses  to install a newer generic Intel driver. So, there's no way to have a non-Lenovo driver. 

Last try I am doing: I got a generic ISO of Windows 10 Pro and reinstalled the s.o. from scratch without Lenovo personalizations, and let Windows find the drivers from Windows Update. Maybe this isn't fully optimized for Lenovo notebooks, but it's not the end of the world. Of course Windows installed a Lenovo HD 620 driver from Windows Update, but not the last one you would get from Lenovo Vantage.

Let's wait and see...

Reply
Options

7 Posts

06-28-2018

IT

10 Signins

124 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎06-28-2018
  • Location: IT
  • Views: 124
  • Message 42 of 66

Re: X270 generic freeze?

2018-07-11, 13:40 PM

Generic ISO installation didn't fix the issue. I confirm that, when the problem appears, resetting the graphic driver by either standby/wake (by the means of power button) or Shift+Ctrl+Windows+B keys let the PC back to work proprely.

Reply
Options

7 Posts

06-28-2018

IT

10 Signins

124 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎06-28-2018
  • Location: IT
  • Views: 124
  • Message 43 of 66

Re: X270 generic freeze?

2018-07-25, 20:10 PM

Apparently, disabling Panel Self Refresh (PSR) in the Intel HD Graphics Control Panel application fixed the issue.
On Lenovo notebook right click on desktop -> Intel Graphics Control Panel -> Energy management -> Panel Self Refresh -> set to Disabled.
I also set the display to max performance, but I don't think this is relevant.
Once disabled, I've no more experienced any freeze for several days.
I'll keep the notebook under control in the next weeks to confirm (I hope) that this is the right way.

Reply
Options

37 Posts

07-23-2018

GB

55 Signins

534 Page Views

  • Posts: 37
  • Registered: ‎07-23-2018
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 534
  • Message 44 of 66

Re: X270 generic freeze?

2018-08-16, 15:00 PM

I'm having the same issue with my Ideapad 320. Lenovo have asked me to send it in for a fourth repair and so far are refusing to give me a refund. I have already had to buy another computer as I need one for my business. I wish I'd read some of these reviews before I bought a Lenovo.

Reply
Options

12 Posts

08-29-2015

SG

21 Signins

199 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎08-29-2015
  • Location: SG
  • Views: 199
  • Message 45 of 66

Re: X270 generic freeze?

2018-08-18, 1:12 AM

Hi All,

 

Mystery solved.  The problem of the screen freeze is due to the RAM "seating".  The service engineer came and told me that this is a common issue which he had fixed a lot already.  When the NB moves, the movement may cause the RAM to move.  So, the way to fix it is to put a rubber stub to "stabilize" the RAM.

 

So far, my issue never re-occured.  Thank goodness.  I thought it has something to do with the graphics card.. but the culprit is the RAM.

 

Hope this helps you guys out there facing this issue.  Other than this issue, this is a great machine.

Reply
Options

3 Posts

04-30-2010

DK

5 Signins

107 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎04-30-2010
  • Location: DK
  • Views: 107
  • Message 46 of 66

Re: X270 generic freeze?

2018-08-18, 3:04 AM

I believe your"NB" means notebook? Please elaborate on what size and kind of rubber and where is should be placed? Or share a link to more info.  Thanks. 

Reply
Options

2 Posts

10-04-2018

PE

4 Signins

65 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎10-04-2018
  • Location: PE
  • Views: 65
  • Message 47 of 66

Re: X270 generic freeze?

2018-10-04, 2:06 AM

Yes, please explain details about this rubber on sodimm.

I have a similar problem on my lenovo L440. The CPU freezes almost every time i turn my NB on. I have tried everything, and when i say everything, i mean everything. I changed de battery, changed de power supply, tried whit another hard disk, tried with an SLAX Unix CD, tried with Portable XP Version, open completly the NB, clean every card an connectors and reasembly incluiding reaplying cream over the CPU, upgrade the bios, downgrade the bios, tried with Windows 7 Lenovo restore factory condition, Windows 10, everything but the problem is the same.

I noticed that the freezes is worst when it start connected to AC and battery plugged, but without battery is almost the same, maybe the freeezes lost less minutes.

Sometimes i have to wait 30 minutes to be ready, and after that time, the NB work perfectly. Almost never, it works perfectly from the beggining without freezes.

 

Thnak you...

Reply
Options

12 Posts

08-29-2015

SG

21 Signins

199 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎08-29-2015
  • Location: SG
  • Views: 199
  • Message 48 of 66

Re: X270 generic freeze?

2018-10-05, 2:17 AM

It looks like a black sponge like thing.  The size is about 2mm x 2mm x 2mm.  The support used 2 of these and stick it under the RAM.  This is the space between the RAM and the Motherboard.  With these 2 stabilizers, it will prevent the RAM from moving and loses contact.

Reply
Options

2 Posts

10-04-2018

PE

4 Signins

65 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎10-04-2018
  • Location: PE
  • Views: 65
  • Message 49 of 66

Re: X270 generic freeze?

2018-10-09, 23:23 PM

Thank you paullim29 but i had my doubts about this fix because the freeze dissapear after 20 or 25 minutes. Anyway i tried it putting a little spounge as you told me. The spoung fixed the sodimm very well against the motherboard but it did not fix the problem.

I think the problem is about the BIOS but it does not is fixed installing any version of the BIOS so i think it is a BIOS hardware problem.

Reply
Options

6 Posts

12-14-2018

US

9 Signins

88 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎12-14-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 88
  • Message 50 of 66

Re: X270 generic freeze?

2018-12-15, 0:21 AM

Hey dude. How is it going now? Did disabling Panel Self Refresh completely solve your problem?

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save