cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
maheshkr9
Serial Port
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-20-2015
Location: IN
Views: 1,234
Message 21 of 64

Re: X270 generic freeze?

Hi,
In my case, the cursor stops moving for few seconds and also keyboard stops responding for that period of time. Both start working after few seconds. This is very annoying.
nohackmove
SCSI Port
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
Location: TR
Views: 1,172
Message 22 of 64

Re: X270 generic freeze?

We ordered x270 with almost same build (with intel NVme 250GB SSD) I prepared dozens of same laptop to users. What a Shame, only the one I prepared to myself have that weird freeze issue. It doesn't matter if you use external mouse, touchpad or trackpad. Mouse and OS at all freeze for a few seconds in random times. Tried to install different versions of Windows 10 OS. Used with updates and without them. Still freezing.

 

I even don't have Intel Connect installed any time.

elbooko
Paper Tape
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-19-2018
Location: US
Views: 1,146
Message 23 of 64

Re: X270 generic freeze?

Two of us had this problem with our new X1 Carbon 6th Gen. We had to get new machines.  Just got my new machine. Let's see if this one works.

 

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/ThinkPad-X-Series-Laptops/X1-Carbon-6th-Gen-Freezes/m-p/4049252#M84492

 

maheshkr9
Serial Port
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-20-2015
Location: IN
Views: 1,133
Message 24 of 64

Re: X270 generic freeze?

If Lenovo failed to provide the solution for my machine, they will have to provide a new machine.
paullim29
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-28-2015
Location: SG
Views: 1,099
Message 25 of 64

Re: X270 generic freeze?

Hi All,

 

I'm also facing the same issue. Mine is the X270. 

 

Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7600U CPU @ 2.80GHz, 2904 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)

BIOS Version/Date LENOVO R0IET52W (1.30 ), 20-03-2018

System Model 20HMS0006SG

16GB Memeory

Samsung 512GB SSD

 

Seems to have a similar pattern here.  Most of us are using high end models with 16GB RAM + 512 SSD.

 

One possible way to solve this is to disable the NB from switching off the display when the lid closes.  But I'm unable to find how to do it.

 

Thanks,

Paul

UNicK37
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-23-2017
Location: TW
Views: 1,068
Message 26 of 64

Re: X270 generic freeze?

I've got exactly the same problem.

Sometimes my laptop screen freezes, while I can still move my mouse cursor.

All input from keyboard doesn't work, and there's no any response in the screen.

To solve this, I have to close my lid and then open it again, and my screen continues working.

 

My device is T480s-20L7CTO1WW.

BIOS: N22ET35W 1.12

OS: Win 10 Pro x64 Chinese Traditional Version 1803 Build 17134.1 (Taiwan)

Core: i5-8250U

Storage: SAMSUNG MZVLW256 NVMe 256GB, factory item

RAM: Micron 8GB x1, factory item

maheshkr9
Serial Port
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-20-2015
Location: IN
Views: 996
Message 27 of 64

Re: X270 generic freeze?

So far Lenovo China and India team worked on my machine and no solution found. Still, the machine is freezing.  Now I don't want to use this machine as this created issues in meetings/presentations and damages the reputation of our company. This is really a matter of concern for Lenovo because when we are using their HIGH-END machines and they are performing worst that the low-end 3rd part machines. I really miss IBM Thinkpad Era.

maheshkr9
Serial Port
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-20-2015
Location: IN
Views: 911
Message 28 of 64

Re: X270 generic freeze?

Finally, Case Manager (Terry) approved for the refund. Waiting for a refund. Will update here further.

UNicK37
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-23-2017
Location: TW
Views: 909
Message 29 of 64

Re: X270 generic freeze?

After a little search, I found this might be related to Windows 10's update.

There is an issue with display driver along with Windows Update.

So, I disable "Hardware Acceleration" in Chrome, and the freezing issue seems to be gone.

maheshkr9
Serial Port
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-20-2015
Location: IN
Views: 903
Message 30 of 64

Re: X270 generic freeze?

We tried that also but didn't work, my machine will be sent to Intel for further research.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors