Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team

Community Spotlight

Visit the Community Blog

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-11-2009
Location: aus
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

X300 + 8GB RAM/Memory

I know I need a 64bit OS to address more than 3/4GB RAM.

 

But does the X300 support 2x4GB SODIMMs at a hardware level? I.e. will it boot, and given a 64bit OS, will the 8GB be addressable?

Posts: 5,184
Solutions: 560
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: United States
0 Kudos

Re: X300 + 8GB RAM/Memory

yes, the X300 supports 8GB.

ThinkStation C20      ThinkPad X1C · X220 · X60T · 600Microsoft MVP

What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-11-2009
Location: Australia

Re: X300 + 8GB RAM/Memory

Hi,

I can confirm the X300 supports 8Gb, as I have it running on mine right now!

I ordered the Kingston kit KVR667D2S5K2/8G and it went in seamlessly.

POST and Windows 7 64 bit see all 8 Gigs

Blue Screen Again
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-28-2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV USA
0 Kudos

Re: X300 + 8GB RAM/Memory

Is there any improvement with this addition?

Token Ring
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎11-27-2008
Location: United Kingdom
0 Kudos

Re: X300 + 8GB RAM/Memory

For normal laptop applications you will not see any improvement in performance with 8Gb of RAM.

 

Only a small number of applications, e.g. Photoshop with very large graphics files will make use of the extra memory.

What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-11-2009
Location: Australia
0 Kudos

Re: X300 + 8GB RAM/Memory

I didn't see any, As I don't normally use that much. I needed to replace 2 x 2Gb sticks that I used in a friends machine, so I thought I'd try to see what the X300 could take.

 

My wife on the other hand begged/cajoled/convinced me that she needed it in her Dell (Lattitude D530) as she is an application hog (has a dozen apps running, and about 40-50 websites in Firefox!).

She happily reports that her machine is noticeably faster.

 

I might get  some more for the X300 for when I start to run some VMs on the box.

Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-27-2007
Location: Leiden - The Netherlands.

Re: X300 + 8GB RAM/Memory

Hi all,

 

I would like to confirm that it works for me as well.

The Thinkpad X300 does support 8GB RAM.

Cheers,

Adecastr.