Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

03-14-2008

USA

5 Signins

35 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎03-14-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 35
  • Message 1 of 16

X300: External Monitors and port replicator

2008-03-15, 18:17 PM
The X300 looks really good, but when not traveling I'd be using it with a 24" 1920x1200 monitor.
 
A couple questions I can't see to find answers for:
 
1)  Is the X300 capable of driving that resolution for an external monitor?
2)  Assuming a good answer to #1, it seems like the new USB-based docking station has an resolution of 1440x or 1400x.  Can the replicator be used, but skip using the video out and, instead, just use the video out from the X300?
 
Using the port replicator may not make sense that way since I might as well just plug everything in manually, but wanted to ask.
 
Thanks in advance for any help/clarity around this.
Reply
Options

5884 Posts

11-24-2007

United States of America

12810 Signins

291275 Page Views

  • Posts: 5884
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 291275
  • Message 2 of 16

Re: X300: External Monitors and port replicator

2008-03-15, 18:43 PM
the X300 can drive up to 2048x1536 @ 32-bit color through the on-board VGA port.   the USB dock can drive up to 1400x1050 @ 32-bit color through its VGA port.

you should be able to use the on-board VGA port while the dock is plugged in.   i don't believe there is a limitation to this.

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

Reply
Options

3 Posts

03-14-2008

USA

5 Signins

35 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎03-14-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 35
  • Message 3 of 16

Re: X300: External Monitors and port replicator

2008-03-15, 21:00 PM
Thanks for the quick reply.
 
The external monitor question seems like an obvious question, but I couldn't seem to find an answer on the datasheets that I've found.  Perhaps I just missed it.
 
Ed
Reply
Options

287 Posts

11-26-2007

Raleigh, NC

580 Signins

11432 Page Views

  • Posts: 287
  • Registered: ‎11-26-2007
  • Location: Raleigh, NC
  • Views: 11432
  • Message 4 of 16

Re: X300: External Monitors and port replicator

2008-03-18, 3:06 AM
Hey everyone,
I checked with some colleagues and confirmed that you can use both VGA outputs with the Advanced Port Replicator, enabling dual external monitors. Hope this helps!
-----------------------------------
Tim Supples
Lenovo Social Media

Got a question? Don't PM me, post it on the forum!
Lenovo Blogs
X60 Tablet SXGA+ primary, Z61p fully loaded workhorse
Reply
Options

5884 Posts

11-24-2007

United States of America

12810 Signins

291275 Page Views

  • Posts: 5884
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 291275
  • Message 5 of 16

Re: X300: External Monitors and port replicator

2008-03-18, 6:19 AM
ed, it's an obvious question with a not-so-obvious answer.   the specs actually come from intel's published info on the X3100 integrated graphics.   for whatever reason lenovo doesn't list their systems' output capabilities in easily-accessible documentation.   not even the X300 topseller announcement letter mentions display output.   i've never understood this as it would clear up many customers' questions and uncertainties.

this makes a thinkpad's ability to output high resolution is a perpetually-confusing topic.   to help put things in perspective, it takes only 12MB of video memory to drive 2048x1536 @ 32-bit and only 9MB to drive 1920x1200 @ 32-bit.   the X300 with its ability to use up to 384MB of shared system memory can easily drive two displays simultaneously within the VGA limitations on each port; 2048x1536 on-board and 1400x1050 via the port replicator.


update: fixed typo.


Message Edited by erik on 05-05-2008 02:19 AM

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

Reply
Options

1 Posts

04-30-2008

hawaii

4 Signins

54 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎04-30-2008
  • Location: hawaii
  • Views: 54
  • Message 6 of 16

Re: X300: External Monitors and port replicator

2008-05-01, 0:17 AM
Hello Tim,
 
I brought a Lenovo X300 along with a replicator and a matrox dual head VGA for my dual monitors (recommended by the IBM sales person). I'm having problem connecting the replicator to dual head VGA for the dual monitors to work, it is not making it dual monitor just to separate monitors with the exact interface. If connect from the dual head VGA directly to the X300 without the replicator then the dual monitors work but it is defecting the purpose of the replicator. The IBM technician said try to uninstall the presentation director but it still doesnt work. Please help. Thanks.
Reply
Options

18 Posts

03-25-2008

UK

9 Signins

163 Page Views

  • Posts: 18
  • Registered: ‎03-25-2008
  • Location: UK
  • Views: 163
  • Message 7 of 16

Re: X300: External Monitors and port replicator

2008-05-04, 20:28 PM
I've got my X300 plugged into a 1920x1200 monitor as I type this message via the VGA port and it works fine.
 
Hope this helps.
 
 
Neil McQuillan
Managing Director
Citrus-Retail - UK providers of Microsoft RMS, eCommerce and IBM EPOS
Reply
Options

18 Posts

04-14-2008

RWS, CA

25 Signins

131 Page Views

  • Posts: 18
  • Registered: ‎04-14-2008
  • Location: RWS, CA
  • Views: 131
  • Message 8 of 16

Re: X300: External Monitors and port replicator

2008-05-07, 18:11 PM
I just got my port replicator, and it's very cool. Especially USB LAN cable.
 
HOWEVER, the Monitor feature sucks bad, and strongly recommend against it. I have a really nice Monitor and the best the replicator will do is 1400x1050 (the basic of the screen of the laptop)...  I wish it did better, but it doesn't. Maybe a patch to the USB Monitor driver will come...
 
FWIW: the drivers are heavy 22mb download for the replicator, so make sure you get them on a high speed line.
 
tx
 
P


Message Edited by phazlehurst on 05-07-2008 11:12 AM
Reply
Options

5 Posts

07-02-2008

Davis, Ca

8 Signins

44 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎07-02-2008
  • Location: Davis, Ca
  • Views: 44
  • Message 9 of 16

Re: X300: External Monitors and port replicator

2008-07-02, 18:41 PM

I bought a port replicator and connected to a dell widescreen monitor. It don't seem to work. I want to change the settings for the 3rd dispaly, after I apply it won't stay. What should I do?

Thanks,

Reply
Options

1 Posts

07-04-2008

Germany

2 Signins

5 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎07-04-2008
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 5
  • Message 10 of 16

Re: X300: External Monitors and port replicator

2008-07-04, 8:14 AM
I've got the same problem. Setup: X300 with USB Port Replicator and a 22" widescreen monitor. The max. resolution i can adjust for the USB Port Replicator is 1280x1024? Can anyone help?
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms