Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

10-13-2008

Norway

7 Signins

31 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎10-13-2008
  • Location: Norway
  • Views: 31
  • Message 1 of 5

X300 supporting more than 4GB?

2008-10-13, 21:53 PM

I had a converstation with a local rep at a Lenovo dealer, and he told me that its technically supported with 8GB of RAM on the X300 if you use Vista x64 (which I already am). However he couldnt provide any reference or example of someone who actually did this.

 

My X300 is my work horse for development in VS2008, and any additional RAM would be welcomed dearly ;)

 

Does anyone have any experience in this?

 

Svein Erik 

Reply
Options

3290 Posts

02-17-2008

Australia

1962 Signins

50408 Page Views

  • Posts: 3290
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2008
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 50408
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: X300 supporting more than 4GB?

2008-10-13, 23:47 PM
I think the GM965 chipset supports up to 8 gig of ram. The X61t and T61p using the same chipset have shown to support 8 gig of ram.
Reply
Options

43 Posts

01-07-2008

Japan

74 Signins

683 Page Views

  • Posts: 43
  • Registered: ‎01-07-2008
  • Location: Japan
  • Views: 683
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: X300 supporting more than 4GB?

2008-10-16, 6:21 AM

The other problem will be the price: a 4GB 200pin DDR2 RAM cost about $400 a pop (so $800 for 8GB...)

Kingston has some : Mfg part: KTD-INSP6000B/4G

4GB DDR2-667 Module Portable Memory 200-pin Unbuffered SODIMM SDRAM-DDR2 667MHz

 

Ballallaz

Reply
Options

3 Posts

10-13-2008

Norway

7 Signins

31 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎10-13-2008
  • Location: Norway
  • Views: 31
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: X300 supporting more than 4GB?

2008-10-16, 7:41 AM
The price in it self is not really a problem, but i would like to know for certain if it will work before i buy them. Shelling out $800 for 8GB is not that bad, but shelling out $800 for nothing is.... ;)
Reply
Options

3290 Posts

02-17-2008

Australia

1962 Signins

50408 Page Views

  • Posts: 3290
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2008
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 50408
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: X300 supporting more than 4GB?

2008-10-16, 12:33 PM

In Australia the 4 gig module can be bought for 140 USD each in stores for a G.Skill one, Kingston costs like 190 USD. I mean if someone has use for 8 gig of ram, then obviously it is a worthwhile investment.

 

What is really expensive is the 4 gig module of DDR3 ram.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms

Most Liked Authors

(Last 7 days)

View All