cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
Iglio
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-11-2019
Location: US
Views: 872
Message 1 of 8

X395 Single-Channel or Dual-Channel RAM?

I see it can have up to 16GB, but the RAM is soldered. Does the RAM come preconfigured as single or dual-channel, or is there a memory expansion slot like the T495s?

Support Specialist
Posts: 611
Registered: ‎05-02-2019
Location: US
Views: 837
Message 2 of 8

Re: X395 Single-Channel or Dual-Channel RAM?

Hi @Iglio!

 

Welcome to Lenovo Community Forums.

 

The ThinkPad X395 is AMD SoC (System on Chip) platform and memory will perform as a single channel only since there're no option to add or upgrade the RAM capacity. All components of the laptop are embedded on the system board. To see the Product Specification click here.

 

soc.PNG

 

Regards,

 

 Edited: added screenshot of system details.



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

octagonalman
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
Location: AU
Views: 336
Message 3 of 8

Re: X395 Single-Channel or Dual-Channel RAM?

I have a 16GB X395. All the RAM is soldered but in a dual-channel configuration, according to CPU-Z.

Support Specialist
Posts: 611
Registered: ‎05-02-2019
Location: US
Views: 326
Message 4 of 8

Re: X395 Single-Channel or Dual-Channel RAM?


@octagonalman wrote:

I have a 16GB X395. All the RAM is soldered but in a dual-channel configuration, according to CPU-Z.


Could you share to us a screenshot of the CPU-Z result? If you dont have two DIM sockets, you have single channel.



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

octagonalman
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
Location: AU
Views: 304
Message 5 of 8

Re: X395 Single-Channel or Dual-Channel RAM?

Sure: https://valid.x86.fr/ecuam7

 

I don't see how you went from the System-on-Chip definition to being limited to single-channel only. Do you mind explaining how you came to that conclusion?

ejoker
802.11n
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎01-18-2020
Location: SG
Views: 277
Message 6 of 8

Re: X395 Single-Channel or Dual-Channel RAM?

I have slightly different question.

Looking at your CPU-Z, it shows that your RAM is running at 1866Mhz. Would you happen to know why that is the case?

I have an X395 with similar configuration to yours.
This is mine: https://valid.x86.fr/6fjr1p

 

I created a post on this but no one had answered.

I am aware that Ryzen 5 supports only 2400Mhz, but Lenovo provides a 2666Mhz RAM

 

Thanks

Gmiralles
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-01-2020
Location: CL
Views: 159
Message 7 of 8

Re: X395 Single-Channel or Dual-Channel RAM?

I also have 933 Mhz. 

 

https://valid.x86.fr/zq2di5

 

 

ejoker
802.11n
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎01-18-2020
Location: SG
Views: 152
Message 8 of 8

Re: X395 Single-Channel or Dual-Channel RAM?

I contacted Lenovo Technical support. In summary, they asked a few questions about the performance of the laptop, checking BIOS and updated drivers. Conclusion is no issue with the laptop but if I have a concern, bring the laptop to the service center for the technicians to have a look.

By the way, I ran Userbenchmark twice and received 2400Mhz on both occasions.

And we're back...

Move delayed but still coming

Learn More

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors