English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

1 Posts

11-11-2019

US

3 Signins

54 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎11-11-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 54
  • Message 1 of 8

X395 Single-Channel or Dual-Channel RAM?

2019-11-11, 17:01 PM

I see it can have up to 16GB, but the RAM is soldered. Does the RAM come preconfigured as single or dual-channel, or is there a memory expansion slot like the T495s?

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

459 Posts

05-02-2019

US

322 Signins

7862 Page Views

  • Posts: 459
  • Registered: ‎05-02-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 7862
  • Message 2 of 8

Re: X395 Single-Channel or Dual-Channel RAM?

2019-11-11, 20:24 PM

Hi !

 

Welcome to Lenovo Community Forums.

 

The ThinkPad X395 is AMD SoC (System on Chip) platform and memory will perform as a single channel only since there're no option to add or upgrade the RAM capacity. All components of the laptop are embedded on the system board. To see the Product Specification click here.

 

 

Regards,

 

 Edited: added screenshot of system details.



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

2 Posts

04-30-2012

Australia

5 Signins

82 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎04-30-2012
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 82
  • Message 3 of 8

Re: X395 Single-Channel or Dual-Channel RAM?

2020-01-17, 12:16 PM

I have a 16GB X395. All the RAM is soldered but in a dual-channel configuration, according to CPU-Z.

Reply
Options

459 Posts

05-02-2019

US

322 Signins

7862 Page Views

  • Posts: 459
  • Registered: ‎05-02-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 7862
  • Message 4 of 8

Re: X395 Single-Channel or Dual-Channel RAM?

2020-01-17, 17:51 PM

 wrote:

I have a 16GB X395. All the RAM is soldered but in a dual-channel configuration, according to CPU-Z.


Could you share to us a screenshot of the CPU-Z result? If you dont have two DIM sockets, you have single channel.



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

Reply
Options

2 Posts

04-30-2012

Australia

5 Signins

82 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎04-30-2012
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 82
  • Message 5 of 8

Re: X395 Single-Channel or Dual-Channel RAM?

2020-01-18, 11:07 AM

Sure: https://valid.x86.fr/ecuam7

 

I don't see how you went from the System-on-Chip definition to being limited to single-channel only. Do you mind explaining how you came to that conclusion?

Reply
Options

20 Posts

01-19-2020

SG

21 Signins

170 Page Views

  • Posts: 20
  • Registered: ‎01-19-2020
  • Location: SG
  • Views: 170
  • Message 6 of 8

Re: X395 Single-Channel or Dual-Channel RAM?

2020-01-19, 12:36 PM

I have slightly different question.

Looking at your CPU-Z, it shows that your RAM is running at 1866Mhz. Would you happen to know why that is the case?

I have an X395 with similar configuration to yours.
This is mine: https://valid.x86.fr/6fjr1p

 

I created a post on this but no one had answered.

I am aware that Ryzen 5 supports only 2400Mhz, but Lenovo provides a 2666Mhz RAM

 

Thanks

Reply
Options

0 Posts

02-01-2020

US

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 0
  • Registered: ‎02-01-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 0
  • Message 7 of 8

Re: X395 Single-Channel or Dual-Channel RAM?

2020-02-01, 14:18 PM

I also have 933 Mhz. 

 

https://valid.x86.fr/zq2di5

 

 

Reply
Options

20 Posts

01-19-2020

SG

21 Signins

170 Page Views

  • Posts: 20
  • Registered: ‎01-19-2020
  • Location: SG
  • Views: 170
  • Message 8 of 8

Re: X395 Single-Channel or Dual-Channel RAM?

2020-02-01, 14:33 PM

I contacted Lenovo Technical support. In summary, they asked a few questions about the performance of the laptop, checking BIOS and updated drivers. Conclusion is no issue with the laptop but if I have a concern, bring the laptop to the service center for the technicians to have a look.

By the way, I ran Userbenchmark twice and received 2400Mhz on both occasions.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete