English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

12-03-2007

UK

12 Signins

79 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎12-03-2007
  • Location: UK
  • Views: 79
  • Message 1 of 11

X61s and Ghost32

2007-12-03, 16:00 PM
Hi,
 
I need to restore the manufacturers preload from a good x61 to a corrupt x61 but ghost cannot recreate the correct mbr. Have read the article regarding the disabling of the predesktop area and using ghost -ib but there is no predesktop area available for selection in the bios.
 
Is this possible or do I have to order a recovery cd/dvd?
Reply
Options

572 Posts

11-24-2007

Mt. Cobb, PA USA

618 Signins

20276 Page Views

  • Posts: 572
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
  • Views: 20276
  • Message 2 of 11

Re: X61s and Ghost32

2007-12-03, 16:38 PM
Welcome to the forums.
You can fix the MBR from the Windows Recovery Console or in Windows Repair.
If you can't get that far, I would suggest to dump Ghost and try Acronis True Image instead.
You can download a free fully-working15-day trial from their website.
Reply
Options

2030 Posts

11-28-2007

CZ

12104 Signins

124927 Page Views

  • Posts: 2030
  • Registered: ‎11-28-2007
  • Location: CZ
  • Views: 124927
  • Message 3 of 11

Re: X61s and Ghost32

2007-12-03, 16:47 PM
Does the F3 key work during boot ? I fixed MBR using fdisk command from hidden partition (on my X31).
__________________________________
ThinkPad (1992 - 2012): R51, X31, X220, Tablet 8.
Reply
Options

287 Posts

11-26-2007

Raleigh, NC

580 Signins

11432 Page Views

  • Posts: 287
  • Registered: ‎11-26-2007
  • Location: Raleigh, NC
  • Views: 11432
  • Message 4 of 11

Re: X61s and Ghost32

2007-12-04, 5:18 AM
I will second Acronis True Image - I've used it with great success personally.

Also - if you have a good X61 system (with good drive & system image), can you not burn the recovery discs from the good system and use those? Is the image on your "bad" system toast or what?

More details! :)
-----------------------------------
Tim Supples
Lenovo Social Media

Got a question? Don't PM me, post it on the forum!
Lenovo Blogs
X60 Tablet SXGA+ primary, Z61p fully loaded workhorse
Reply
Options

4 Posts

12-03-2007

UK

12 Signins

79 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎12-03-2007
  • Location: UK
  • Views: 79
  • Message 5 of 11

Re: X61s and Ghost32

2007-12-04, 8:44 AM
Thanks for all the replies.
 
We are a small reseller and have around 700 systems go through here a day, most require some kind of imaging. We have a special deal on symantec products. When we require to restore a preload to a new system, the image is stored on our servers for 6 months in case it is required again.
 
The good x61 is a stock loan, the second requires to go back to stock.
 
True Image is a cost overhead we would rather avoid but thanks for the advice.
 
These lenovo products are the first to display these issues - now have same problem with the Thinkcentres.
 
All I require is the correct process that will work with ghost or deploycenter or is there a utility to restore the MBR?

If I explode the OS on the good thinkpad and create restore media, will this return both laptops to a factory state? Don't want to kill 2 systems.

Message Edited by hollispj on 12-04-2007 12:57 AM
Reply
Options

26 Posts

12-04-2007

Bratislava

25 Signins

383 Page Views

  • Posts: 26
  • Registered: ‎12-04-2007
  • Location: Bratislava
  • Views: 383
  • Message 6 of 11

Re: X61s and Ghost32

2007-12-04, 13:34 PM
You have not mentioned which OS you are using but, as it is an X61, there is a good chance it is Vista (this sometimes helps for XP too), you will need to use the -fdsp switch as well as the -ib switch with Ghost.


Message Edited by Snife on 12-04-2007 05:34 AM
Reply
Options

4 Posts

12-03-2007

UK

12 Signins

79 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎12-03-2007
  • Location: UK
  • Views: 79
  • Message 7 of 11

Re: X61s and Ghost32

2007-12-05, 12:14 PM
Nope, the fdsp switch does not work though it did get further. The system now cannot find winload.exe but the blue ThinkVantage button is the one to hang with a blank screen except the single flashing line top left.
 
Time to get Lenovo engaged at a corporate level me thinks.
 
 


Message Edited by hollispj on 12-05-2007 06:46 AM
Reply
Options

1 Posts

01-31-2008

UK

2 Signins

30 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎01-31-2008
  • Location: UK
  • Views: 30
  • Message 8 of 11

Re: X61s and Ghost32

2008-01-31, 14:55 PM
Hi,
 
I had the same issue a while back and managed to get around it. Try the following;
 
1. Enter the bios (hit F1) and select 'Security'
2. Select 'FingerPrint'
3. Select 'Predesktop Authentication'
4. Set to 'Disable'
5. Hit F10 to save all changes and exit.
 
Now, before you re-image with ghost32, make sure you've also set the 'Serial ATA (SATA)' bios option to 'Compatability'. See below;
 
1. Enter the bios (hit F1) and select 'Config'
2. Select ''Serial ATA (SATA)'
3. Set to 'Compatability'
4. Hit F10 to save all changes and exit.
 
This should do the trick. If you're working with Lenovo T61 models as well, the above also applies.
 
Andy
 
 
 
Reply
Options

2 Posts

02-22-2008

Illinois

6 Signins

140 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2008
  • Location: Illinois
  • Views: 140
  • Message 9 of 11

Re: X61s and Ghost32

2008-02-22, 7:19 AM
Is it necessary to disable the pre-desktop area in order to use third-party imaging software such as Acronis True Image or Norton Ghost in place of the built-in backup provided in the ThinkVantage Productivity Center?

Reply
Options

2029 Posts

12-02-2007

AU

9435 Signins

247288 Page Views

  • Posts: 2029
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: AU
  • Views: 247288
  • Message 10 of 11

Re: X61s and Ghost32

2008-02-22, 10:14 AM


Devonshire wrote:
Is it necessary to disable the pre-desktop area in order to use third-party imaging software such as Acronis True Image or Norton Ghost in place of the built-in backup provided in the ThinkVantage Productivity Center?


I can't comment of the situation with Ghost, as I gave up on it years ago after being let down by it too many times, but it is certainly not necessary with the current release of Acronis True Image.

CHeers,
 
Bill
------------------------------
I don't work for Lenovo
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete