Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

04-18-2009

Netherlands

5 Signins

30 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎04-18-2009
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 30
  • Message 1 of 10

slow X301

2009-04-18, 9:22 AM

I am experiencing that the X301 is quite a bit slower than I expected. I use Windows XP professional 2002, service pack 2. The overall performance is disappointing to the extent that I am wondering whether something is wrong with my system. For example, the first loading of Word 2007 in a new session takes 25 seconds, even if working with maximum performance power scheme. Moreover, when trying to insert, for instance, a fraction in the equation editor, it may take between 30 sec and a a full minute before the fraction options become available. This seems excessive for a laptop of this price.

Does anybody else experience such a slow performance? Is the problem XP and should I upgrade to Vista? Is it possible to run Vista and XP next to each other?

Reply
Options

117 Posts

11-27-2008

United Kingdom

130 Signins

775 Page Views

  • Posts: 117
  • Registered: ‎11-27-2008
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • Views: 775
  • Message 2 of 10

Re: slow X301

2009-04-18, 22:03 PM
Not a direct answer I know, but however slow the performance is with XP, it will only be worse with Vista because that takes a bigger processor overhead. 
Reply
Options

15 Posts

03-22-2009

Cambridge, England

671 Signins

2210 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎03-22-2009
  • Location: Cambridge, England
  • Views: 2210
  • Message 3 of 10

Re: slow X301

2009-04-18, 22:30 PM
frank_n, I have an X301 and it loads Word 2007 in less than 4 seconds.  There is something wrong with your X301 or its installation.  Maybe you should seek Warranty support.
Reply
Options

21115 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 21115
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 4 of 10

Re: slow X301

2009-04-19, 16:12 PM
under power manager are you using your laptop in high performance mode or some other mode?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

4 Posts

04-18-2009

Netherlands

5 Signins

30 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎04-18-2009
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 30
  • Message 5 of 10

Re: slow X301

2009-04-21, 6:50 AM

I have been timing how long it takes to start Word using the maximum performance power scheme (by the way, the thinkvantage power schemes menu also takes several seconds to load).

Reply
Options

21115 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 21115
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 6 of 10

Re: slow X301

2009-04-21, 9:50 AM
How much ram do you have.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

4 Posts

04-18-2009

Netherlands

5 Signins

30 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎04-18-2009
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 30
  • Message 7 of 10

Re: slow X301

2009-04-21, 9:59 AM

I had the RAM extended to 3 GB when I bought it. As the laptop is brand new, there is hardly anything installed on it and I had McAfee running from the first day.

Reply
Options

21115 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 21115
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 8 of 10

Re: slow X301

2009-04-21, 10:09 AM
If you having so much problem with XP, Vista would be even worse, i guess there could some other problems, you should give Lenovo service a call. 
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

117 Posts

11-27-2008

United Kingdom

130 Signins

775 Page Views

  • Posts: 117
  • Registered: ‎11-27-2008
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • Views: 775
  • Message 9 of 10

Re: slow X301

2009-04-21, 11:10 AM
Before going any further I would try taking out the extra RAM that was added, just in case it's faulty/incompatible. Very easy to do.
Reply
Options

302 Posts

12-12-2007

Germany, near Hamburg

310 Signins

8837 Page Views

  • Posts: 302
  • Registered: ‎12-12-2007
  • Location: Germany, near Hamburg
  • Views: 8837
  • Message 10 of 10

Re: slow X301

2009-04-22, 15:59 PM

Beside checking if the RAM modules do make the trouble, you also may want to shut down the McAfee software etc. completely, in order to see if that possibly makes any performance differences when starting common local system applications. There are some Anti-Virus and Internet Security suites around with build-in proactive defense functions, which when enabled do slow down application start-up times in a massive manner, since every app and process you're gonna to start will be first scanned/checked on your harddisk before executing them.

ThinkPad T60/X32/600/770 · IBM IntelliStation · 3x IBM SpaceSaver II

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms