Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

93 Posts

10-10-2011

USA

1684 Signins

6958 Page Views

  • Posts: 93
  • Registered: ‎10-10-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 6958
  • Message 1 of 12

x1 carbon 3rd gen - ASPM disabled

2015-05-16, 22:26 PM

"powercfg /energy" in CMD prompt reports the following error:

Platform Power Management Capabilities: PCI Express Active-State Power Management (ASPM) Disabled PCI Express Active-State Power Management (ASPM) has been disabled due to a known incompatibility with the hardware in this computer.

 

Anyone else getting this?

Reply
Options

4679 Posts

01-22-2010

United States of America

38996 Signins

596846 Page Views

  • Posts: 4679
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 596846
  • Message 2 of 12

Re: x1 carbon 3rd gen - ASPM disabled

2015-05-17, 14:10 PM

Hi noxxle,

 

Running that command gives me an analysis and the results include some errors which I attribute to installing Windows 10 and reverting back to 8.1.  

 

But the command executes and runs.

 

power conf2.jpg

 

Regards

Dave 


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

93 Posts

10-10-2011

USA

1684 Signins

6958 Page Views

  • Posts: 93
  • Registered: ‎10-10-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 6958
  • Message 3 of 12

Re: x1 carbon 3rd gen - ASPM disabled

2015-05-17, 14:26 PM

What errors (not warnings or informationals) are listed in the generated report?  You may need to copy it to your desktop to open it.

Reply
Options

4679 Posts

01-22-2010

United States of America

38996 Signins

596846 Page Views

  • Posts: 4679
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 596846
  • Message 4 of 12

Re: x1 carbon 3rd gen - ASPM disabled

2015-05-17, 15:36 PM

If I run the command on just battery, I get one error:

 

USB Suspend:USB Device not Entering Selective Suspend.

 

If I run the command on AC I get three:

 

Same as above

CPU Utilization:  Processor utilization is high

And the same error as you described above.

 

The CPU utilization looks like ESET is responsible.

 

Dave 


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

4679 Posts

01-22-2010

United States of America

38996 Signins

596846 Page Views

  • Posts: 4679
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 596846
  • Message 5 of 12

Re: x1 carbon 3rd gen - ASPM disabled

2015-05-17, 15:56 PM

I went in to the power options and changed the settings on both battery and plugged in to every setting there was and ran the command after every change.

 

I now get the same error that you have every time.


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

93 Posts

10-10-2011

USA

1684 Signins

6958 Page Views

  • Posts: 93
  • Registered: ‎10-10-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 6958
  • Message 6 of 12

Re: x1 carbon 3rd gen - ASPM disabled

2015-05-17, 16:30 PM

What's the name of the power plan you are using? And what happens if you restore it to default settings (there should be a button/link to do this when you click "edit plan settings")?

Reply
Options

4679 Posts

01-22-2010

United States of America

38996 Signins

596846 Page Views

  • Posts: 4679
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 596846
  • Message 7 of 12

Re: x1 carbon 3rd gen - ASPM disabled

2015-05-17, 17:56 PM

Lenovo Power Optimized

 

Restoring to default gives the same errors as above plugged.CPU is 10% from ESET running.  

 

Edit:  I'll change it to Power Saver and see what that does.

 

Same three errors on Power Save on default settings plugged in.

 

I wish I would have done this when I had Windows 10 installed, the reason I took it back to 8.1 is that Windows uses a generic graphics driver on 10.   


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

93 Posts

10-10-2011

USA

1684 Signins

6958 Page Views

  • Posts: 93
  • Registered: ‎10-10-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 6958
  • Message 8 of 12

Re: x1 carbon 3rd gen - ASPM disabled

2015-05-17, 18:03 PM

Is it possible that link management is enabled but handled at a bios/firmware level instead of the OS? If so, how to test?

Reply
Options

4679 Posts

01-22-2010

United States of America

38996 Signins

596846 Page Views

  • Posts: 4679
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 596846
  • Message 9 of 12

Re: x1 carbon 3rd gen - ASPM disabled

2015-05-17, 18:07 PM

Scrolling down to the bottom of the report says that no energy efficiency problems were found.


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

93 Posts

10-10-2011

USA

1684 Signins

6958 Page Views

  • Posts: 93
  • Registered: ‎10-10-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 6958
  • Message 10 of 12

Re: x1 carbon 3rd gen - ASPM disabled

2015-05-17, 18:35 PM
But you still get the ASPM disabled error near the top?
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms