Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit our eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

575 Posts

03-20-2011

Canada

7411 Signins

12474 Page Views

  • Posts: 575
  • Registered: ‎03-20-2011
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 12474
  • Message 1 of 23

x120e DDR3 Ram Speed !!Pictures!!

2011-03-22, 3:20 AM

I have a question about the actual ram speed in the Lenovo x120e. Mine came with a single 2GB DDR3-1333 (PC3-10666). When I got it, I ran CPU-Z to see what the memory actually ran at, because I had 2x4GB DDR3-1066 (PC3-8500) from an old laptop that died and I wanted to use it in the x120e. CPU-Z detected the ram as DDR3-1333, but what puzzles me is the actual speed the memory is running at, 269Mhz. This is with the power plugged in and maximum performance settings, I first thought it might downclock the RAM while on battery to save power. This is not the case.

 

Screenshot of the original DDR3-1333 ram below.

 

http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/7130/originalddr31333.png

 

 

 

I then installed the 2x4GB DDR3-1066, the system booted up fine and works fine. Below is the screenshot of CPU-Z.

 

http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/844/ddr31066.png

 

 

As you can see, the speed remains the same (highlighted in Red). Also the timings (Blue) are identical to what the original ram was running at...

 

So my question is, why is the speed so low, and why is Lenovo shipping DDR3-1333 in the x120e when it looks like its clearly not necessary.

 

PS. If someone can run CPU-Z on their x120e and see what their ram runs at, It'd be appreciated for comparison. Here's the link: http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html

 

Thanks!

 

 

Moderator note; picture(s) totalling >50K - Picture warning added Forum Rules

 

Solved! See the solution
---------------------
| X220 i7-2620M | 12.5" HD IPS | Intel 180GB SSD | Crucial 480GB mSATA SSD | 8GB DDR3 | Intel 7260 AC |
| X260 i7-6600U | 12.5" FHD IPS | Samsung 860Pro 512GB SSD | 16GB DDR4 | Intel 8260 AC |
Reply
Options

80 Posts

03-14-2011

USA

974 Signins

2650 Page Views

  • Posts: 80
  • Registered: ‎03-14-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 2650
  • Message 2 of 23

Re: x120e DDR3 Ram Speed !!Pictures!!

2011-03-22, 7:00 AM

The E-350 APU is only capable of using DDR3-1066 (see AMD's page for reference: http://www.amd.com/us/products/notebook/apu/mainstream/Pages/mainstream.aspx#3)

 

As for why CPU-z is reporting 269 mhz instead of 533 mhz, I'd attribute that to a bug in CPU-z. Using HWinfo32, the correct RAM speed of 533 mhz is reported (http://www.hwinfo.com/download32.html). Here's what HWinfo32 reports (I get essentially the same CPU-z screen as you do)

 

http://imgf.tw/589479226.png

 

Moderator Note: Image size > 50k, converted to link.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

575 Posts

03-20-2011

Canada

7411 Signins

12474 Page Views

  • Posts: 575
  • Registered: ‎03-20-2011
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 12474
  • Message 3 of 23

Re: x120e DDR3 Ram Speed !!Pictures!!

2011-03-22, 13:01 PM

Thanks, I didn't think it could be a bug in CPU-Z. I've been using it for many years and it's always been accurate. But perhaps the AMD "Zacate" platform being new, who knows...

 

But it looks like my DDR3-1066 memory is good to use.

---------------------
| X220 i7-2620M | 12.5" HD IPS | Intel 180GB SSD | Crucial 480GB mSATA SSD | 8GB DDR3 | Intel 7260 AC |
| X260 i7-6600U | 12.5" FHD IPS | Samsung 860Pro 512GB SSD | 16GB DDR4 | Intel 8260 AC |
Reply
Options

575 Posts

03-20-2011

Canada

7411 Signins

12474 Page Views

  • Posts: 575
  • Registered: ‎03-20-2011
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 12474
  • Message 4 of 23

Re: x120e DDR3 Ram Speed !!Pictures!!

2011-03-24, 1:06 AM

Just as a follow up, I had a chance to run HWinfo today, with the original 2gb DDR3-1333 stick and my 2x4gb DDR3-1066 sticks. Both report running at 533mhz. All is well. :)

 

Still makes me wonder why Lenovo is using faster chips than needed. Unless they got a great deal on a big volume shipment, knowing they work fine in slower speeds if needed.

 

Hope people aren't paying more for DDR3-1333 sticks to use in these x120e's.

---------------------
| X220 i7-2620M | 12.5" HD IPS | Intel 180GB SSD | Crucial 480GB mSATA SSD | 8GB DDR3 | Intel 7260 AC |
| X260 i7-6600U | 12.5" FHD IPS | Samsung 860Pro 512GB SSD | 16GB DDR4 | Intel 8260 AC |
Reply
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

Canada

3313 Signins

95283 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 95283
  • Message 5 of 23

Re: x120e DDR3 Ram Speed !!Pictures!!

2011-03-24, 2:05 AM
Probably easier to maintain a whole stash of DDR3-1333MHz chips for every model than try and inventory/source/distribute two different speeds.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Options

4352 Posts

01-22-2010

United States of America

38716 Signins

584236 Page Views

  • Posts: 4352
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 584236
  • Message 6 of 23

Re: x120e DDR3 Ram Speed !!Pictures!!

2011-03-24, 2:07 AM

It's actually better to run faster ram and let it clock back.  It runs cooler and doesn't have to work as hard.


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

12 Posts

04-07-2011

California

24 Signins

219 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎04-07-2011
  • Location: California
  • Views: 219
  • Message 7 of 23

Re: x120e DDR3 Ram Speed !!Pictures!!

2011-04-08, 23:29 PM

Just to be on the safe side. The lenovo x120e can go up to 8gb (2 x 4gb) of ram right? There are some conflicting reports about the maximum capacity.

Reply
Options

575 Posts

03-20-2011

Canada

7411 Signins

12474 Page Views

  • Posts: 575
  • Registered: ‎03-20-2011
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 12474
  • Message 8 of 23

Re: x120e DDR3 Ram Speed !!Pictures!!

2011-04-08, 23:43 PM

 


wrote:

Just to be on the safe side. The lenovo x120e can go up to 8gb (2 x 4gb) of ram right? There are some conflicting reports about the maximum capacity.


It can. Many of us are running it with 2x4GB.

 

---------------------
| X220 i7-2620M | 12.5" HD IPS | Intel 180GB SSD | Crucial 480GB mSATA SSD | 8GB DDR3 | Intel 7260 AC |
| X260 i7-6600U | 12.5" FHD IPS | Samsung 860Pro 512GB SSD | 16GB DDR4 | Intel 8260 AC |
Reply
Options

12 Posts

04-07-2011

California

24 Signins

219 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎04-07-2011
  • Location: California
  • Views: 219
  • Message 9 of 23

Re: x120e DDR3 Ram Speed !!Pictures!!

2011-04-12, 4:17 AM

Do you recommend anything in particular?

Reply
Options

42 Posts

02-15-2011

United Kingdom

137 Signins

325 Page Views

  • Posts: 42
  • Registered: ‎02-15-2011
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • Views: 325
  • Message 10 of 23

Re: x120e DDR3 Ram Speed !!Pictures!!

2011-04-12, 8:05 AM

Whats the FASTEST RAM possible for this laptop please? I'm after 2 X 4 gig.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms