English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

21 Posts

03-10-2011

California

21 Signins

128 Page Views

  • Posts: 21
  • Registered: ‎03-10-2011
  • Location: California
  • Views: 128
  • Message 31 of 139

Re: x120e Flickering

2011-03-30, 8:10 AM
I can confirm SP1 does not fix the issue.

I've used the Lenovo Preloaded OS, updated to SP1 and the issue still exists.

I've wiped my hard drive, done a clean install of Windows 7 with SP1 downloaded from MSDN TechNet, and the issue still exists.

I've tried using the Lenovo supplied drivers as well as the latest drivers from AMD.com and the issues still exist.

I really hope this is a driver issue and a new update is coming soon, and not a design flaw.
Reply
Options

3509 Posts

07-12-2010

Malaysia

5065 Signins

104816 Page Views

  • Posts: 3509
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2010
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 104816
  • Message 32 of 139

Re: x120e Flickering

2011-03-30, 15:37 PM
@destring,

Are you using the Lenovo Preload RAM or did you add additional RAM to your laptop.

//JameZ
Reply
Options

21 Posts

03-10-2011

California

21 Signins

128 Page Views

  • Posts: 21
  • Registered: ‎03-10-2011
  • Location: California
  • Views: 128
  • Message 33 of 139

Re: x120e Flickering

2011-03-30, 15:55 PM

No additional RAM installed. Preloaded RAM only.

Reply
Options

288 Posts

11-28-2007

US

412 Signins

9231 Page Views

  • Posts: 288
  • Registered: ‎11-28-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 9231
  • Message 34 of 139

Re: x120e Flickering

2011-03-31, 18:20 PM

Please try installing the newest BIOS (just released) and see if it helps.

 

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-76666

 

This BIOS vastly increases the amount of RAM dedicated to video, which could be the root of the problem here.  Please try it and let us know if you still see the issue.

Reply
Options

3 Posts

04-01-2011

USA

5 Signins

33 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎04-01-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 33
  • Message 35 of 139

Re: x120e Flickering

2011-04-01, 12:47 PM

I am having the same issue with my x120e, it looks exactly like what ldbobby’s youtube video shows.

For me, the problems started after I installed more RAM.  I got a 2x4GB PC3 8500 PNY kit, and one stick worked fine in either slot, but the other stick caused the random-lines flickering issue.  Interestingly, the stick that causes the flickering passes memtest86 without errors. 

 

Here are some of my observations:

-          On my machine the flickering seems to be tied to GPU usage.  The lines start showing up when the Windows aero interface is enabled after I log in.

-          The flickering for seems to get worse when I open or move a window.

-          The flickering also occurs on my TV when I have my x120e hooked up via HDMI

-          I didn’t see a difference between the Lenovo video drivers and the drivers on AMD’s site (currently I’m using Catalyst 11.3).

-          The BIOS update did not help the problem

-          The flickering never occurred with the factory installed RAM, or with the one good stick of RAM

 

Originally I thought the problem was due to some “bad” RAM, so I returned the RAM and had the same exact problem with a second kit.  Maybe I just have bad luck, but it seems unlikely that I would get faulty RAM twice.  I’m wondering if the x120e is just picky about what RAM it works with.

 

My System Config:

-          Windows 7 x64 SPI (I installed it myself, got the x120e without an OS)

-          I have not changed a single setting in Catalyst control center so I’m assuming power play is enabled

Reply
Options

552 Posts

03-20-2011

CA

7410 Signins

12469 Page Views

  • Posts: 552
  • Registered: ‎03-20-2011
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 12469
  • Message 36 of 139

Re: x120e Flickering

2011-04-01, 16:39 PM

 


wrote:

I am having the same issue with my x120e, it looks exactly like what ldbobby’s youtube video shows.

For me, the problems started after I installed more RAM.  I got a 2x4GB PC3 8500 PNY kit, and one stick worked fine in either slot, but the other stick caused the random-lines flickering issue.  Interestingly, the stick that causes the flickering passes memtest86 without errors.


 

Interesting that it's manifesting itself with a ram upgrade. I have 2x4GB PC3-8500 in mine and don't notice any flicker.


Perhaps its very finnicky about the ram.

---------------------
| X220 i7-2620M | 12.5" HD IPS | Intel 180GB SSD | Crucial 480GB mSATA SSD | 8GB DDR3 | Intel 7260 AC |
| X260 i7-6600U | 12.5" FHD IPS | Samsung 860Pro 512GB SSD | 16GB DDR4 | Intel 8260 AC |
Reply
Options

21 Posts

03-10-2011

California

21 Signins

128 Page Views

  • Posts: 21
  • Registered: ‎03-10-2011
  • Location: California
  • Views: 128
  • Message 37 of 139

Re: x120e Flickering

2011-04-01, 17:44 PM
Its definitely not a RAM issue. I've experienced the issue witth 2 different X120e machines using just RAM that came preinstalled (2GB and 3GB).
Reply
Options

3 Posts

04-01-2011

USA

5 Signins

33 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎04-01-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 33
  • Message 38 of 139

Re: x120e Flickering

2011-04-01, 18:58 PM

So, I did some more testing.  Here's what I found:

 

 - With Power Play disabled the flickering is reduced, but does not go away

- The flickering only occurs on the windows desktop for me (so far), I played 2 full screen games for about 5 mins each and they did not flicker once

- After exiting the games, the flickering went away for a minute or two, but then it came back

 

This leads me to believe that it's either a driver problem (let's hope) or there is some hardware issue with AMD's power management feature.

Reply
Options

32 Posts

03-14-2011

NY, USA

382 Signins

821 Page Views

  • Posts: 32
  • Registered: ‎03-14-2011
  • Location: NY, USA
  • Views: 821
  • Message 39 of 139

Re: x120e Flickering

2011-04-04, 0:52 AM

That bios update linked above is not working for me.  The windows installer says somehting about drivers not being loaded and the iso file is empty.....  Any ideas?

Reply
Options

79 Posts

03-14-2011

USA

974 Signins

2650 Page Views

  • Posts: 79
  • Registered: ‎03-14-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 2650
  • Message 40 of 139

Re: x120e Flickering

2011-04-04, 1:21 AM

If you open the ISO file, it looks empty, but there's actually something on it.

 

Since I didn't have a USB cd drive handy, I used YUMI (http://www.pendrivelinux.com/yumi-multiboot-usb-creator/) to prepare a USB flash drive -- I picked the "other iso" option, pointed it to the bios update ISO, and it worked.

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete