Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

202 Posts

11-11-2011

Albania

1774 Signins

10451 Page Views

  • Posts: 202
  • Registered: ‎11-11-2011
  • Location: Albania
  • Views: 10451
  • Message 1 of 16

x120e hags at boot time at lenovo logo

2012-03-08, 22:07 PM

Hi

 

I'm having this strange issue. My x120e randomly hangs at bios boot logo (lenovo logo). I have to shut it down manually and back it on. Until now it hangs only when I restart it. The only device attached is the usb wireless mouse.

 

Did anyone had the same problem? Any ideas what is causing this?

 

abvasili

I'm just a volunteer. I like to help others where I can. Do my ideas work? I hope so. o_O
Who helped you today? Do not forget to thank him.
My hardware: TP x120e 0596-2ru. Windows 7, sp1, 64Bit, English, installed in UEFI mode.
Reply
Options

6849 Posts

10-29-2009

United States of America

17782 Signins

165144 Page Views

  • Posts: 6849
  • Registered: ‎10-29-2009
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 165144
  • Message 2 of 16

Re: x120e hags at boot time at lenovo logo

2012-03-08, 22:56 PM

Go into BIOS F1 setup, look in the startup menu.  I think the option is called "boot mode" or something like that.  The default is "quick" but you can also set it to "diagnostic" where instad of seeing the lenovo logo, you'll see diagnostic information from the BIOS.  See if that gives you any clues.

Reply
Options

202 Posts

11-11-2011

Albania

1774 Signins

10451 Page Views

  • Posts: 202
  • Registered: ‎11-11-2011
  • Location: Albania
  • Views: 10451
  • Message 3 of 16

Re: x120e hags at boot time at lenovo logo

2012-03-09, 8:44 AM

Thanks someotherguy,

 

I tried that already, but strangely I cannot get the diagnostic boot. The bios change automatically to quiet (quick) boot on each restart. This is very strange. I do not know if these problems are somehow connected or I should open a new thread regarding diagnostic bios boot.

 

Anyone else with x120e that can confirm if diagnostic boot works? Am I doing something wrong?

 

abvasili

I'm just a volunteer. I like to help others where I can. Do my ideas work? I hope so. o_O
Who helped you today? Do not forget to thank him.
My hardware: TP x120e 0596-2ru. Windows 7, sp1, 64Bit, English, installed in UEFI mode.
Reply
Options

4018 Posts

12-02-2007

United States of America

9086 Signins

193558 Page Views

  • Posts: 4018
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 193558
  • Message 4 of 16

Re: x120e hags at boot time at lenovo logo

2012-03-09, 9:51 AM

Hello,


Does it make a difference if you remove the transmitter for the wireless mouse from the USB port?

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP72 (20MB-*)P50 (20EN-*)S230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)Yoga 370

  Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Język Polski    Moto English


Need an answer, fast? Try using Browser Search to find it in the Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

202 Posts

11-11-2011

Albania

1774 Signins

10451 Page Views

  • Posts: 202
  • Registered: ‎11-11-2011
  • Location: Albania
  • Views: 10451
  • Message 5 of 16

Re: x120e hags at boot time at lenovo logo

2012-03-09, 10:36 AM

Hi Aryeh

 

No, it doesn't make any difference.  I still can't get the diagnostic boot. Instead, after changing it to diagnostic, save and restart, I get a message: System configuration changed - Please restart your computer. After that the boot mode changes to quick automatically....

 

abvasili

I'm just a volunteer. I like to help others where I can. Do my ideas work? I hope so. o_O
Who helped you today? Do not forget to thank him.
My hardware: TP x120e 0596-2ru. Windows 7, sp1, 64Bit, English, installed in UEFI mode.
Reply
Options

4436 Posts

01-22-2010

United States of America

38824 Signins

587281 Page Views

  • Posts: 4436
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 587281
  • Message 6 of 16

Re: x120e hags at boot time at lenovo logo

2012-03-11, 1:23 AM

Hi abvasili,

 

Once you choose diagnostic boot and hit F10, it should automatically go into diagnostics. It should also keep going into diagnostics at every reboot until you change it.  What version bios are you running?

 

Try running a memory diagnostic manually from the bios. See if it will run.  You might also want to run a hard drive diagnostic manually or from a live linux usb stick.

 

If you hit F12 at startup, is there anything in the boot order ahead of the hard drive?

 

Edit:  One last thing, did you try resetting the bios to its default settings?

 

Dave

 

 

 

 


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

202 Posts

11-11-2011

Albania

1774 Signins

10451 Page Views

  • Posts: 202
  • Registered: ‎11-11-2011
  • Location: Albania
  • Views: 10451
  • Message 7 of 16

Re: x120e hags at boot time at lenovo logo

2012-03-11, 6:23 AM

Hi Dave

 

No matter what I do, I never get to the diagnostic screen. Hitting f12 at boot give me the boot menu list with two tabs. The firs with boot list, and second with application menu. There, at the second tab is the diagnostic boot. I hit that but the diagnostic screen appears for some milliseconds, not enough to see what is written.

 

My bios version is 1.16 (the latest from support page).

 

And yes I reseted the bios to it's defaults.

 

Any clue?

 

abvasili

I'm just a volunteer. I like to help others where I can. Do my ideas work? I hope so. o_O
Who helped you today? Do not forget to thank him.
My hardware: TP x120e 0596-2ru. Windows 7, sp1, 64Bit, English, installed in UEFI mode.
Reply
Options

4436 Posts

01-22-2010

United States of America

38824 Signins

587281 Page Views

  • Posts: 4436
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 587281
  • Message 8 of 16

Re: x120e hags at boot time at lenovo logo

2012-03-11, 14:04 PM

Resetting to default should have disabled virtualization.  Make sure that it did.

 

Within the bios, there should be a HHD diagnostic.  Are you able to run it from within the bios?  

 

Dave


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

202 Posts

11-11-2011

Albania

1774 Signins

10451 Page Views

  • Posts: 202
  • Registered: ‎11-11-2011
  • Location: Albania
  • Views: 10451
  • Message 9 of 16

Re: x120e hags at boot time at lenovo logo

2012-03-11, 16:40 PM

Yes, virtualization is disabled, in fact I never activated it.

 

Within the bios I do not have any diagnostic tool.

 

abvasili

I'm just a volunteer. I like to help others where I can. Do my ideas work? I hope so. o_O
Who helped you today? Do not forget to thank him.
My hardware: TP x120e 0596-2ru. Windows 7, sp1, 64Bit, English, installed in UEFI mode.
Reply
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

Canada

3313 Signins

95283 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 95283
  • Message 10 of 16

Re: x120e hags at boot time at lenovo logo

2012-03-11, 21:58 PM
What if you pull the internal drive and boot to a USB stick with Ubuntu or something?

And just to make sure, no broken USB ports?

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms