cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
GV2
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-11-2016
Location: NL
Views: 800
Message 1 of 5

x200 displayport doesn't work?

All,

 

I have just purchased a 27" monitor that i have connected to my x200 ultrabase. I run a X201 thinkpad. I connected the DisplayPort connector to the dock and on the other end a minidisplay connector to the screen. The screen does not get signal, nor does the laptop recognize the screen :-(

A screen connected via the VGA connector works fine. How to resolve?

Bit_0
Punch Card
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎08-18-2015
Location: US
Views: 737
Message 2 of 5

Re: x200 displayport doesn't work?

I had the same issue with my Thinkpad(s)... turns out there are a lot of junk DP cables on the market.
Try a DP cable of a reputable brand name and see if that sorts this out.
phantom-atom
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-19-2017
Location: CA
Views: 672
Message 3 of 5

Re: x200 displayport doesn't work?

Just saw this. I also have an X201 with X200 ultrabase and connected a 27" 4K monitor to it using DP to DP, The monitor is not detecting any signal. I am pretty sure it's not a cable. Any thoughts?

 

Did you get this resolved?

 

Thx,

tk

 

phantom-atom
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-19-2017
Location: CA
Views: 672
Message 4 of 5

Re: x200 displayport doesn't work?

I have the Lenovo X201 laptop and X200 docking station. I have a USB docking station with 2 1920x1080p monitors installed and I have my original Lenovo ThinkVision LEN1144 24" monitor (1920x1200) via VGA port on the X200. I recently bought an HP Envy 27s monitor (27" that does up to UHD 3840x2160) to replace my LEN1144 and run 2560x1440 on it, which the X200 can do via DP.

 

I plugged in the HP 27s and encountered the same problem the OP had here (HP 27s did not detect the connection). I tried several things and nothing worked. Finally I went into the 27s's display settings and one option was the DP mode. The choices were DP 1.1 or DP 1.2. It was set to DP 1.2 which most current graphics cards support. I switched it to DP 1.1 and heard the refreshing beep on my X201 that a monitor was detected. Sure enough, it was there and I configured it for 1440p (2560x1440) and it works fine. As a bonus, my LEN1144 continues to work, so I have 4 monitors now :-).

 

So the solution for me was to enable DP 1.1 on the 1440p monitor to get DP working.

 

Hope that helps if anyone still has this ancient system! (Might be time for a replacement :-).

 

tk

 

johnnyjohnny5
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-11-2019
Location: GB
Views: 201
Message 5 of 5

Re: x200 displayport doesn't work?

Sadly the monitor that I have (an iiyama) doesn't have any option about DP version...

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors