Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

9 Posts

03-22-2012

Canada

10 Signins

84 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎03-22-2012
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 84
  • Message 101 of 155

Re: x220 does not resume from sleep

2012-06-22, 19:49 PM
I should add that I am also using the option of starting the tablet with the fingerprint .... some people suggested earlier that removing this option would solve the problem... but I do not think this is true in my case... but I should mention this is creating another problem that of keeping the battery sign on after I put the table on hibernate (and this does not happen constantly ... again that erratic behavior with nor clear pattern ...)
Reply
Options

4 Posts

06-25-2012

Fiji

13 Signins

49 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎06-25-2012
  • Location: Fiji
  • Views: 49
  • Message 102 of 155

Re: x220 does not resume from sleep

2012-06-25, 22:37 PM

 

My x220t has a serial number of R9-DX*. For the past four or so months, when I open the computer in its suspended state, the lights come on momentarily, then they go off, then it repeats, forever as far as I can tell.

 

I thought it was a botched install. Today I put a new drive in, with a fresh OS install.

 

Same problem.

 

I am really shaking my head in frustration (near rage) and sadness now. Is it really so hard for a computer manufacturer to get these things right?

 

How about we all organize a class-action or something.

 

Reply
Options

8 Posts

06-25-2012

Ohio, USA

41 Signins

322 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎06-25-2012
  • Location: Ohio, USA
  • Views: 322
  • Message 103 of 155

Re: x220 does not resume from sleep

2012-06-26, 4:23 AM

I just received my X230(t) last friday and after two hours of use I put it to sleep and tried to awaken the machine after 15 minutes or so and it just simply wouldn't turn on. The "Thinkpad" logo flashes for a second, then a loud click and done. Game over.

 

I tried all of the suggestions mentioned on this thread and others of similiar nature but, to no avail. Opened a service ticket on Friday itself with Lenovo and I am supposed to get a repair box tomorrow. Repair time - 6 days at the most.

 

A little gloomy and doubtful about the whole situation after reading about all you X220 owners struggles. Still decided to give Lenovo a chance since my T410s has been (and still is) an absoloute champ.

 

P.S My serial number begins with R9-P****

Reply
Options

8 Posts

06-25-2012

Ohio, USA

41 Signins

322 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎06-25-2012
  • Location: Ohio, USA
  • Views: 322
  • Message 104 of 155

Re: x220 does not resume from sleep

2012-06-26, 4:28 AM
I forgot to mention but, the representative who helped me said it was the system board the minute I got done telling her what happened.
She was quick to offer a full refund or a repair.
Reply
Options

18 Posts

05-13-2012

United States of America

55 Signins

213 Page Views

  • Posts: 18
  • Registered: ‎05-13-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 213
  • Message 105 of 155

Re: x220 does not resume from sleep

2012-06-26, 10:10 AM
Man, I'd take the full refund and flee!!!!
Reply
Options

8 Posts

01-31-2012

Hamburg

14 Signins

65 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎01-31-2012
  • Location: Hamburg
  • Views: 65
  • Message 106 of 155

Re: x220 does not resume from sleep

2012-06-26, 11:46 AM

as mentioned some weeks ago I updated bios and intel firmware

I had exactly one crash directly after that (may be I did not reboot)

 

Since then the error did not occure any more and I use it daily

 

I do have some problems with WWAN (Problems connecting etc.) may be I updated on driver too much :-/

Reply
Options

1 Posts

06-27-2012

BC

2 Signins

8 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2012
  • Location: BC
  • Views: 8
  • Message 107 of 155

Re: x220 does not resume from sleep

2012-06-27, 22:55 PM

Having a similar issue with my new x230. Doesn't do the boot loop but just won't return from suspend.  the only thing i've noticed is that it seems to be happening when i move the computer. Only thing I could think of so far(but haven't tried to do anything about it) is that the Active Protection system is being over zealous?

Reply
Options

8 Posts

06-25-2012

Ohio, USA

41 Signins

322 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎06-25-2012
  • Location: Ohio, USA
  • Views: 322
  • Message 108 of 155

Re: x220 does not resume from sleep

2012-06-27, 23:59 PM

That thought did cross my mind too since I moved the laptop in tablet form from my desk to the bed before trying to reawaken it but, unlike your X230, my system could not be resurrected even with a hard reboot.

 

Maybe you can lower the HDD protection system settings or turn it off completely and see how things go and enlighten us all :)

Reply
Options

4 Posts

06-25-2012

Fiji

13 Signins

49 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎06-25-2012
  • Location: Fiji
  • Views: 49
  • Message 109 of 155

Re: x220 does not resume from sleep

2012-06-28, 2:36 AM

 

I should have saved some of my outrage. Never should have had a problem in the first place, but after I updated the BIOS I can suspend/resume correctly again.

 

Reply
Options

6 Posts

05-17-2012

Moscow

23 Signins

47 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎05-17-2012
  • Location: Moscow
  • Views: 47
  • Message 110 of 155

Re: x220 does not resume from sleep

2012-06-28, 8:38 AM

So, I have not experienced that bad behaviour since bios update and OS replacement from Fedora 16 to ubuntu 12.04. ( more than 3 weeks)

 

The bad news is that at one moment it just didn't wake up at all. 

And I just couldnt turn it on. 

 

1.5 weeks in service center without any response yet.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms