Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Highlighted
Token Ring
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
Location: Romania
Message 1 of 9 (10,634 Views)

x230 mSATA working at SATA 2 speeds

[ Edited ]

I installed a MyDigitalSSD 256GB Smart Series SATA III but I only seem to be getting SATA 2 speeds.

Lenovo sales rep said that the x230 is SATA 3 for the mSATA slot, and CrystalDiskInfo seems to confirm this as it reports Transfer Mode as SATA/600, though HD Tune reports it as SATA 2.

 Here are the results I get:

Link to image 1

 

while benchmarks from reviews look like this:

 

Link to image 2

 

I checked that the BIOS is set to AHCI.

 

Any other ideas what might be happening?

 

thanks

 

Vicentiu

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/forums/postpage/board-id/X_Series_Thinkpads

 

Moderator note: images larger than 50k converted to links per forum rules:   Lenovo Community Participation Rules

Lenovo Staff
Posts: 3,175
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
Message 2 of 9 (10,687 Views)

Re: x230 mSATA working at SATA 2 speeds

Token Ring
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
Location: Romania
Message 3 of 9 (10,603 Views)

Re: x230 mSATA working at SATA 2 speeds

Thanks for clarifying...

 

So, should I not trust sales reps to give accurate answers to technical questions? 

Lenovo Staff
Posts: 3,175
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
Message 4 of 9 (10,589 Views)

Re: x230 mSATA working at SATA 2 speeds

It does seem like you were misled.  I'm very sorry about that.  May I please ask where you got the wrong info?  If a particular person within Lenovo gave it to you, please send me that info by private message.

Token Ring
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
Location: Romania
Message 5 of 9 (10,581 Views)

Re: x230 mSATA working at SATA 2 speeds

Mmmm.... how do I send you a private message? I looked around, but didn't see anything.

Token Ring
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
Location: Romania
Message 6 of 9 (10,579 Views)

Re: x230 mSATA working at SATA 2 speeds

found it.

Punch Card
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-27-2011
Location: West Lafayette, IN
Message 7 of 9 (9,558 Views)

Re: x230 mSATA working at SATA 2 speeds

I also received incorrect information, but I was able to track down the right information before I placed the order. The three reps I talked to all confirmed SATA 3 on the mSATA ports. The problem? They don't know the difference between SATA 3 and SATA at 300mbps (which is SATA 2).

Posts: 889
Topics: 44
Kudos: 144
Solutions: 39
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Location: US
Message 8 of 9 (9,345 Views)

Re: x230 mSATA working at SATA 2 speeds


vicentiu wrote:

Thanks for clarifying...

 

So, should I not trust sales reps to give accurate answers to technical questions? 


In my experience you should trust information in this order:

  • Lenovo Fourms
  • PSRF ("Tabook")
  • Data sheets on Lenovo Website (Do not trust if product has not been out for > 3 months)
  • Lenovo Ordering Page (Do not trust if product has not been out for >3 months)
  • Lenovo Sales Reps 

------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.
Community Moderator
Posts: 4,799
Registered: ‎01-13-2008
Location: Bainbridge Island, WA, USA
Message 9 of 9 (7,991 Views)

Re: x230 mSATA working at SATA 2 speeds

top kudoed authors