English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

5 Posts

04-01-2009

NYC

12 Signins

48 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎04-01-2009
  • Location: NYC
  • Views: 48
  • Message 1 of 11

x301 and ericson F3507g card nighmares

2009-04-01, 20:13 PM

Hello all,

 

I have recently purchased a lenovo x301 from CDW. The laptop came with AT&T card and software. I had requested a Verizon card (F3507g) and instelled it. When I called verizon to switch from my 5750 to the built in one they asked for ESN number which I dont have. I have looked everywhere and couldnt find it.

 

After hours of digging around I have realized that even this card is locked to AT&T/GSM network. Is there a way to switch it over to CDMA mode or somehow force it to give me the ESN number?

 

I have read that people are using this card on the Verizon network.

 

Thanks for your help.

Reply
Options

1960 Posts

12-02-2007

AU

9435 Signins

247288 Page Views

  • Posts: 1960
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: AU
  • Views: 247288
  • Message 2 of 11

Re: x301 and ericson F3507g card nighmares

2009-04-02, 4:03 AM

DBsteel wrote:

 

After hours of digging around I have realized that even this card is locked to AT&T/GSM network.


The Lenovo supplied F3507g cards are not network locked, and will work with a wide variety of 3G network provider's SIMs.

 

Whatever your Verizon ESN issue is, its not related to the the card being locked to AT&T (or GSM).

 

Cheers

 

Bill

------------------------------
I don't work for Lenovo
Reply
Options

5 Posts

04-01-2009

NYC

12 Signins

48 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎04-01-2009
  • Location: NYC
  • Views: 48
  • Message 3 of 11

Re: x301 and ericson F3507g card nighmares

2009-04-02, 12:48 PM

So than how do you explain the messege i get that says the card is in GSM mode. I think maybe i need the verizon firmware. Any ideas?

 

thanks,

Reply
Options

4775 Posts

04-25-2008

US

39293 Signins

739644 Page Views

  • Posts: 4775
  • Registered: ‎04-25-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 739644
  • Message 4 of 11

Re: x301 and ericson F3507g card nighmares

2009-04-02, 14:40 PM

The wireless networks in the US are confusing, particularly because they like to lock phones and data cards whenever they can.

 

Here is what I understand:

 

The Ericsson F3507g card works only with GSM-based networks (i.e. AT&T in the US), and it is unlocked.

 

Verizon's network is CDMA, and the X301 card for that is the Qualcomm UNDP1.

 

The UNDP1 also supports GSM (it's a ''world traveler''), BUT it is locked to Verizon SIM's.

 

The cards which the X301 supports are listed in the X301 Hardware Maintenance Manual. The information about which technologies the cards support comes from their datasheets. I don't own either card myself, but follow WWAN discussions in this and other ThinkPad communities.

Message Edited by bananaman on 04-02-2009 10:42 AM
I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
Reply
Options

5 Posts

04-01-2009

NYC

12 Signins

48 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎04-01-2009
  • Location: NYC
  • Views: 48
  • Message 5 of 11

Re: x301 and ericson F3507g card nighmares

2009-04-02, 15:45 PM

This card is supported by the laptop.

 

Verizon has activated the card but the software says that the card wont function in GSM mode. Is there a way to switch it into a CDMA mode.

 

Thanks.

Reply
Options

4775 Posts

04-25-2008

US

39293 Signins

739644 Page Views

  • Posts: 4775
  • Registered: ‎04-25-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 739644
  • Message 6 of 11

Re: x301 and ericson F3507g card nighmares

2009-04-02, 16:09 PM

The Ericsson F3507g WWAN card supports GSM only, not CDMA.

 

Based on the information you've provided so far, you have an Ericsson F3507g WWAN card with a Verizon SIM. That should work.

 

Unfortunately I have no experience with the Verizon WWAN connection software.

 

Maybe someone else does?

 

I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
Reply
Options

5 Posts

04-01-2009

NYC

12 Signins

48 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎04-01-2009
  • Location: NYC
  • Views: 48
  • Message 7 of 11

Re: x301 and ericson F3507g card nighmares

2009-04-02, 16:16 PM

Here is info straigh from Ericsson. I just hate the fact that Lenovo sells a product they cannot support. Some guy over the phone told me yesterday that they dont support this kind of issues. Well than dont sell products you cant support.

 

 

 

The
Ericsson Mobile Broadband Module is

primarily intended for notebooks, but can also

be integrated in Fixed Wireless Terminals and

other devices that need high-speed wide area

connectivity.

 

Mobile Broadband Module F3507g

Form Factor:

PCI Express Mini Card

Modes:

HSPA/WCDMA/EDGE/GPRS

Bands:

WCDMA 2100/1900/850MHz

GPRS/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900MHz

Speeds:

HSPA Data speed

D/L 7.2Mbps

U/L 2.0Mbps

GPS:

Supports stand alone and assisted GPS

Antenna:

WCDMA receiver diversity

Connectivity:

Advanced receiver – GRAKE2

USB 2.0

Drivers:

MS Windows XP, Vista, MacOS, Linux

Software:

Customizable connection manager (dashboard)

Certifications:

FCC

CE

R&TTE

PTCRB

GCF

Operator and infrastructure IOT Microsoft certified driver

Environmental:

RoHS CompliantHalogen free

Reply
Options

4775 Posts

04-25-2008

US

39293 Signins

739644 Page Views

  • Posts: 4775
  • Registered: ‎04-25-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 739644
  • Message 8 of 11

Re: x301 and ericson F3507g card nighmares

2009-04-02, 17:59 PM

Unfortunately CDMA and WCDMA are completely different things.

 

The Ericsson F3507g does not support Verizon CDMA-based networks, only GSM-based networks.

 

The Qualcomm UNDP1 supports both CDMA-based and GSM-based networks. This is the card you get when you buy an X301 "with Verizon". Verizon's US network is CDMA-based, and it supports GSM-based roaming for its 'world travelers'.

 

I'm trying to help without getting too far into alphabet soup!

 

I suggest you go to whomever sold you the F3507g for use with Verizon (CDW or Lenovo) and get them to help you. I believe they should have sold you a Qualcomm UNDP1.

 

 

 

I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
Reply
Options

5 Posts

04-01-2009

NYC

12 Signins

48 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎04-01-2009
  • Location: NYC
  • Views: 48
  • Message 9 of 11

Re: x301 and ericson F3507g card nighmares

2009-04-02, 18:10 PM

Ok, I put the qualcomm card back in. When i go to VZaccess software it tells me the same thing. The card is in GSM mode.

 

 

Installed the 7xwc21ww.exe drivers.

 

Thanks,

Message Edited by DBsteel on 04-02-2009 11:35 AM
Reply
Options

4775 Posts

04-25-2008

US

39293 Signins

739644 Page Views

  • Posts: 4775
  • Registered: ‎04-25-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 739644
  • Message 10 of 11

Re: x301 and ericson F3507g card nighmares

2009-04-02, 20:42 PM

OK.

 

That could be a problem with the Lenovo driver, or it could be a problem with VZAccess.

 

Remembering that I don't have one of these puppies, here's an observation: I note that the VZAccess Manager versions for the  5750 and Qualcomm laptop cards are different.

 

There is also a VZAccess "Network Mode" setting...

I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save