Germany, Göttingen

4 Signins

31 Page Views

• Views: 31
  • Message 1 of 4

x61s thermal problems

2009-04-05, 21:27 PM
Hello,

I got my 'new' x61s (7666-E3G) a few days ago and are now fighting with a problem. When putting some load to the machine (encoding audio files, some number crunching, disk backup with TrueImage, starting WoW ... ) the thermal sensor 0x1c will soon (~10 min) pass 63°C and the cpu will start to throttle heavily. This is even more of a problem if the machine is placed in the dock or the LAN is connected as it produces a higher default temperatur. CPU and MCH temps are allways below 80°C regardsless of what I try to make them sweat.

System is Vista/SP1 All drivers and apps on the latest version.

Is there any idea what could be tried beside trying to get the service to work on it (which is an adventure on it's own as I'm just learning with my x60s)? Or is t maybe a comman problem?

Regards, Lars
Message Edited by Lars on 04-05-2009 04:59 PM
Options

20986 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

• Views: 444194
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: x61s thermal problems

2009-04-06, 1:31 AM

The X61s with the lower TDP processor should have less of a temperature problem than for the X61 with T7xxx processor, but then again the problem that you describe may arise if the heat sink and the CPU does not have a perfect contact, either due to improper installation or/and lack of thermal grease, did you get this laptop new or second hand?

If it is reaching 80 degrees celsius then i would definitely give Lenovo service a call, the last thing you want is a fried x61s done the road.  

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Options

2 Posts

04-05-2009

Germany, Göttingen

4 Signins

31 Page Views

• Views: 31
  • Message 3 of 4

2009-04-06, 2:08 AM