English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Tablet and Helix Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

12 Posts

11-16-2009

Germany

24 Signins

150 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎11-16-2009
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 150
  • Message 1 of 8

Bitlocker on x200t don't work proper

2009-11-18, 7:33 AM

Hi all,

sorry for double post, but i get no answer till now, perhaps it was in the wrong forum, so here my problem again:

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Windows-7-Discussion/bitlocker-and-windows-7/m-p/176278

 

What i have:

x200t with BIOS 3.10 and Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit

Updated with lenovo systemupdater all driver

And try to use bitlocker because truecrypt don't work on Lenovo x200s/t if AHCI is activated(and i forget to deactivate AHCI in BIOS when i installed Win7)

 

What i try:

1. Setup all the grouppolicys like described in the "link" above.

2. Deleting/empty tpm

3. gpupdate.exe /force

4. Reboot

5. Started bitlocker full encryption with key manage by bitlocer, because i want a "simple" mode and not always ype additional passwords etc. when boot the x200

 

What is the problem?

 

So with this settings i get often the issue that when i dock off in home office and go to office on work and dock in there the x200t the WARNING on booting that something was changed and Bitlocker needs to start with the recovery mode.

After that i must suspend bitlocker and resume, then work the booting normal again.

 

But if  then go back to Homeoffice and reboot there my laptop, i get this again.

 

So this was the las 3 days.

 

 

Have somebody same problems?

Or some more hints which setting is perhaps wrong?

 

Kind regards

Carsten

Reply
Options

12 Posts

11-16-2009

Germany

24 Signins

150 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎11-16-2009
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 150
  • Message 2 of 8

Re: Bitlocker on x200t don't work proper

2009-11-19, 10:01 AM

A little update, at moment till now i didn't have again the issue.

Looks like it is really necessary to make all in the right step by step way.

 

I will test now 2 more weeks and if it works i will report

Reply
Options

19 Posts

02-01-2009

Norway

45 Signins

429 Page Views

  • Posts: 19
  • Registered: ‎02-01-2009
  • Location: Norway
  • Views: 429
  • Message 3 of 8

Re: Bitlocker on x200t don't work proper

2009-11-20, 21:18 PM

I had the same problem.

If I turned off the PC when it was in the docking station, and turn it on again undocked. BitLocker registrated it as changes in the PC configuration.

 

My solution was to activate the BitLocker when the PC was undocked.

Reply
Options

2 Posts

11-23-2009

Israel

2 Signins

25 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎11-23-2009
  • Location: Israel
  • Views: 25
  • Message 4 of 8

Re: Bitlocker on x200t don't work proper

2009-11-23, 15:03 PM

Hi ,

 

We had the same issue and after trying this troubleshoot, everything went fine :

 

1- boot your laptop docked and retrieved the RECOVERY KEY

2- disable bitlocker

3- restart and disable the CDROM/DVD device booting from the BIOS (boot/network)

4- re-enable bitlocker

 

Enjoy.

 

ps- dont decrypt the disk just disable bitlocker.

 

Reply
Options

12 Posts

11-16-2009

Germany

24 Signins

150 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎11-16-2009
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 150
  • Message 5 of 8

Re: Bitlocker on x200t don't work proper

2009-11-28, 20:39 PM

Hi,

ok at moment it works till now fine, only on reboot i get now "blackscreen" and i must power off the system with the powerbutton...but this is not so terrible...but perhaps if someone now what it can be...in the eventviewer of system i found no errors..

 

sleep mode work fine and normal shutdown too..only reboot hangup...

 

but back to topic.

 

bitlocker works no really good!

 

I have done again the solution of the link in my first post in this way:

 

All in the dockngstation docked in!

 

- delete/empty tpm (tpm.msc)

- setup the districted gpolicys and and save them with gpupdate.exeexe /force

- reboot

- then start first the bitlocker encryption for ma HDD after that starting also the encryption of my SD Card for Readyboost so all is encrypted now

 

And it works!

 

KR

 

 

Reply
Options

2 Posts

11-23-2009

Israel

2 Signins

25 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎11-23-2009
  • Location: Israel
  • Views: 25
  • Message 6 of 8

Re: Bitlocker on x200t don't work proper

2009-11-28, 21:01 PM

Last Update,

now is official , you must select the CDROM as the third bootable device (at least) in order to make no "hw changes" - so bitlocker can continue its regular load.

 

 

Reply
Options

6 Posts

12-10-2009

Seattle, WA

10 Signins

103 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎12-10-2009
  • Location: Seattle, WA
  • Views: 103
  • Message 7 of 8

Re: Bitlocker on x200t don't work proper

2009-12-30, 23:46 PM

I took the CDROM device completely out of the picture and I am still having issues.  Indeed, what happens is every time I dock my x200, I have to enter the Bitlocker key.  Not so if it is not docked.

 

Thoughts?

 

Thanks,

Brian

 

Reply
Options

2 Posts

02-07-2010

Norway

2 Signins

46 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎02-07-2010
  • Location: Norway
  • Views: 46
  • Message 8 of 8

Re: Bitlocker on x200t don't work proper

2010-02-07, 17:34 PM

Bitlocker is designed to go into recovery mode when docking/undocking a portabel PC as described here on Microsoft Technet: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee449438%28WS.10%29.aspx.

 

Any workarounds anybody?

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms