Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit our eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Tablet and Helix Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

31 Posts

01-06-2008

USA

112 Signins

435 Page Views

  • Posts: 31
  • Registered: ‎01-06-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 435
  • Message 11 of 17

Re: Is there a WAY to downgrade the BIOS?

2008-07-24, 12:10 PM
Bummer, when I try to download the previous version I had installed, the 1.14, it says FILE NOT FOUND. as if they have pulled it offline?
Reply
Options

210 Posts

12-20-2007

NY

560 Signins

2994 Page Views

  • Posts: 210
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2007
  • Location: NY
  • Views: 2994
  • Message 12 of 17

Re: Is there a WAY to downgrade the BIOS?

2008-07-24, 22:43 PM
You may try flashing 7SET30WW (1.16) instead. It could be download w/o any problem.
Reply
Options

210 Posts

12-20-2007

NY

560 Signins

2994 Page Views

  • Posts: 210
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2007
  • Location: NY
  • Views: 2994
  • Message 13 of 17

Re: Is there a WAY to downgrade the BIOS?

2008-08-02, 7:04 AM

wrote:

:

 

Your approach is plausible in theory, however, I have proven mine in practice on more than one ThinkPad. In the interest of full disclosure, though, not on anything as new as X6x series.


Finally I have enough time to prove it myself!

 

As expected, after 3 hours leaving RTC battery off the circuit.

 


 

 This is what I got, checksum error >> lost all setting and definitely the time is back to the first day it can be.

 

I'm pretty sure that this BIOS is just an EPROM as you can find on every PCs.

 

Moderator Note; Picture deleted for members own protection as it included s/n.

Message Edited by andyP on 08-02-2008 01:53 PM
Reply
Options

37 Posts

05-17-2010

Worldwide, US, EU, India, APAC

195 Signins

1109 Page Views

  • Posts: 37
  • Registered: ‎05-17-2010
  • Location: Worldwide, US, EU, India, APAC
  • Views: 1109
  • Message 14 of 17

Re: Is there a WAY to downgrade the BIOS?

2011-09-30, 14:14 PM
What did removing the battery do?
Thinkpads:
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP
Dell:
Inspiron 9300: 17"WUXGA/NVidiaGeForce6800/2.2PM/2G/XP (old)
Reply
Options

1 Posts

02-24-2016

vln

2 Signins

15 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎02-24-2016
  • Location: vln
  • Views: 15
  • Message 15 of 17

Re: Is there a WAY to downgrade the BIOS?

2016-02-24, 7:28 AM

reset the bios settings that are stored in CMOS memory of course! if someone thinks that taking out the battery will downgrade the bios is pure stupidity :) There is not enough memory in the bios flash chip to store more than 1 version of the BIOS. I do repairs in component level so I know how much capacity are the chips.

Reply
Options

65 Posts

01-20-2018

Ireland

111 Signins

827 Page Views

  • Posts: 65
  • Registered: ‎01-20-2018
  • Location: Ireland
  • Views: 827
  • Message 16 of 17

Re: Is there a WAY to downgrade the BIOS?

2018-01-27, 13:03 PM

yes there is a way to downgrade, dowload bios update you want to downgrade,

  • First Extract the BIOS you want to flash (ZIP  is what i used)
  • In the extracted directory their is a file called "platform.ini"
  • Edit platform.ini and change the line "CheckByBios=0" to "CheckByBios=1" save the file
  • Run the BIOS flash utility from the extracted folder 
Reply
Options

1 Posts

06-30-2018

Australia

1 Signins

6 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎06-30-2018
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 6
  • Message 17 of 17

Re: Is there a WAY to downgrade the BIOS?

2018-06-30, 13:52 PM

You can downgrade the bios in stages from the previous of the newest and so forth for example on a T420s i went straight to `1.46 before i learned of 1.41 with whitelisting for things such as wifi cards as at present wifi no longer works on the old card, so i have had to flash 1.45, now 1.44 followed by 1.43, then 1.41, then i can flash the modded one. Hope this helps, you'd honestly think lenovo of it's own accord would have fixed such nonsense!

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms