Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Tablet and Helix Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

04-03-2009

Australia

49 Signins

139 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎04-03-2009
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 139
  • Message 1 of 5

X200T - Corsair 4GB memory errors

2009-04-03, 4:11 AM

Hi,

 

I have a new Lenovo X200T with Vista 64-bit.

 

I installed 2x2GB Corsair PC3-8500 1066MHZ DDR3 204PIN SODIMM CAS-7-7-7-20. 

 

I am getting memory errors using Vista memory tester as well as memtest86+ and am experiencing lock-ups.

 

I do not get errors or lockups when I install only one stick in the left slot. I tested both sticks individually so I don't think the memory sticks are bad.

 

I cannot install only one stick in the right slot - it cannot boot. Is this normal?

 

Is there something wrong with the X200T or is the memory incompatible when using 4GB in both memory slots?

 

Thanks

Reply
Options

72 Posts

12-07-2007

Athens, GA

273 Signins

2259 Page Views

  • Posts: 72
  • Registered: ‎12-07-2007
  • Location: Athens, GA
  • Views: 2259
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: X200T - Corsair 4GB memory errors

2009-04-05, 3:20 AM
Did you run Memtest on each of the sticks individually, when installed in the single slot that works?  If the chips test OK, then it must be a problem with the second slot.  You can put 2 - 2gb in an X200T - I have that configuration - I am pretty sure that you can put 2 - 4 gb in, for 8 gb total, as well.  However, it is going to be tough to get Lenovo to support a problem with 3rd party parts installed.  Good luck!
Reply
Options

58 Posts

05-31-2008

San Francisco

144 Signins

1060 Page Views

  • Posts: 58
  • Registered: ‎05-31-2008
  • Location: San Francisco
  • Views: 1060
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: X200T - Corsair 4GB memory errors

2009-04-05, 18:30 PM

Yes, when you call them, they will say they do not support 3rd party hardware, and you need to pay them if you do want to.

 

Reply
Options

6 Posts

10-21-2008

Toronto Ontario Canada

7 Signins

108 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎10-21-2008
  • Location: Toronto Ontario Canada
  • Views: 108
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: X200T - Corsair 4GB memory errors

2009-04-05, 22:58 PM

Hi I would like to have something cleared up. From above posts, its saying that you can have 4GB RAM stick per slot? This means a X200 Tablet can essentially have 8GB DDR3 RAM installed and run VISTA 64Bit quite well?

 

Or it was misunderstood that a total of 4GB but its really 2 stick of RAM at 2GB per slot?

 

Could someone clear that up.

 

Thanks

Reply
Options

3 Posts

04-03-2009

Australia

49 Signins

139 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎04-03-2009
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 139
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: X200T - Corsair 4GB memory errors

2009-04-06, 13:50 PM

wrote:
Did you run Memtest on each of the sticks individually, when installed in the single slot that works?  If the chips test OK, then it must be a problem with the second slot.  You can put 2 - 2gb in an X200T - I have that configuration - I am pretty sure that you can put 2 - 4 gb in, for 8 gb total, as well.  However, it is going to be tough to get Lenovo to support a problem with 3rd party parts installed.  Good luck!

Yes, I ran memtest for each stick in the working slot and they test ok. Do you know if either one your slots works with only one 2GB stick installed? The X200T will not boot if I install just one stick in the right slot, leaving the left slot empty. But I can install just one stick in the left slot, leaving the right one empty.

 

I called Lenovo and they said they were going to check up on the RAM compatibility for me but they haven't got back to me yet. 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms