cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
tastro
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎06-14-2013
Location: slovenia
Views: 1,459
Message 1 of 11

How to set the fan speed to max. on X230t (Windows 8)?

How to set the fan speed to max. on X230t (Windows 8)?

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 1,455
Message 2 of 11

Re: How to set the fan speed to max. on X230t (Windows 8)?

i use TPfancontrol to set the fan speed in the X230t. However, this will cause wear on your X230t's fan bearing, which will cause premature fan failure. Is there a reason why you want to run the fan speed at max?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
tastro
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎06-14-2013
Location: slovenia
Views: 1,435
Message 3 of 11

Re: How to set the fan speed to max. on X230t (Windows 8)?

hi,

the reason is, that the case gets hot after some time of using the computer.

thanks for the suggestion... i will try it. how long have you used this application? and how much faster do you think that the fan could stop to work?

 

EDIT: so i tested the application which you suggested... but i can remember that the fan ran much faster and was much more noisy when i still had windows 7 installed and turned the turbo mode on... so i guess that it's not possible to turn it to max. with this application/program, or am i wrong?

best regards, tastro

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 1,414
Message 4 of 11

Re: How to set the fan speed to max. on X230t (Windows 8)?

i don't have windows 8 program on my X230t, i will try to test it on windows 7 for you.

What is your X230t spec in terms of CPU, i5 or i7?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
tastro
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎06-14-2013
Location: slovenia
Views: 1,410
Message 5 of 11

Re: How to set the fan speed to max. on X230t (Windows 8)?

hi,

it's i5.

best regards, tastro
tastro
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎06-14-2013
Location: slovenia
Views: 1,367
Message 6 of 11

Re: How to set the fan speed to max. on X230t (Windows 8)?

hi,

it's working fine now... after i red the .ini file i got a better understanding of things... the BIOS mode is like a DEFAULT mode, it's like without the TPfancontrol application... the manual 7 is max. and smart mode is quiet mode.

thank you for telling me about TPfancontrol! it's all i needed.

problem solved!

best regards, tastro
tastro
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎06-14-2013
Location: slovenia
Views: 1,332
Message 7 of 11

Re: How to set the fan speed to max. on X230t (Windows 8)?

hi,

i got 1 more question about the TPfancontrol application. Is it possible to set the BIOS mode as default when windows start?

haven't figured this out yet... because i like the BIOS mode all the time and the manual mode when i have the laptop on my lap (upper legs).

don't know if the smart mode is such a good idea... overheating the laptop all the time... lenovo knows why it set the BIOS settings the way they have.

best regards, tastro
lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 1,315
Message 8 of 11

Re: How to set the fan speed to max. on X230t (Windows 8)?

yes you can, you have to edit the file. Read the instruction that comes with TPFancontrol.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
tastro
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎06-14-2013
Location: slovenia
Views: 1,270
Message 9 of 11

Re: How to set the fan speed to max. on X230t (Windows 8)?

hi,

i can't find it anywhere in the .ini file. Smiley Sad could you tell me which command it is in the .ini file?

thank you!

best regards, tastro
tastro
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎06-14-2013
Location: slovenia
Views: 1,247
Message 10 of 11

Re: How to set the fan speed to max. on X230t (Windows 8)?

hi,

with the "active" command i can set it only to manual or smart, but don't know how to set it to bios:

// "Active=0" program just reads config.
// "Active=1" allow program to modify fan.
// "Active=2" program will come up in smart mode.
// "Active=3" program will come up in manual mode.
// bei "Active=0" wird nur die Konfiguration ausgelesen.
// bei "Active=1" die Veränderung des Lüfterverhaltens ist aktiviert.
// bei "Active=2" startet das Programm im "Smart"-Modus.
// bei "Active=3" startet das Programm im "Manual"-Modus.

Active=3

or is active 1 the bios mode?

i will try if active 0 loads the last configuration... then i just have to set it to bios and reboot and hope that it will work.

best regards, tastro

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors