Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
crushkilla
Paper Tape
Views: 1,622
Message 1 of 9

Seriously considering an X220 Tablet for medical school

Hi guys, this is my first post here.

I'm really considering buying one of these for note taking and after reading many glowing reviews I'm close to set on it. However, while doing my research on the tablet I stumbled upon issues regarding palm rejection and problems with the digitizer's precision on the edges of the screen. This is my first time venturing into the tablet world, so I'm not sure if the complaints that I'm reading about truly wreck the user experience, or if the complaints are being exaggerated (for lack of a better word) by tablet connoisseurs who expect nothing less than perfect from Lenovo. Specifically, my questions are:

1) As a student who will be using it mostly with OneNote, how glaring are these problems? Is palm rejection as terrible as people say it is or can it be simply solved by putting the digitizer on the screen before setting your palm down?

2) And as for menu buttons on the edge of the screen, is it really that tough to get to them? Does using your finger to press the menu buttons on the edge of the screen serve as a good workaround for this problem?

3) I read somewhere that the "edge issue" is more of a problem during landscape orientation as opposed to portrait. Is this true?

4) Have the previous Lenovo tablets suffered from similar issues and were they addressed with driver updates? That is, should I expect these issues to eventually be fixed?

5) How do the X201 tablet and X200 tablet compare to the X220 tablet when it comes to these issues? Were they nonexistent, or were they not as bad? Would I be better off with an X200 or X201?

6) Do "aftermarket" or non-wacom digitizer pens work at addressing these issues?

I really want to be satisfied with a product I'll be spending ~$1400 on!

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Views: 1,607
Message 2 of 9