Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Tablet and Helix Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

337 Posts

11-13-2010

United States of America

542 Signins

4968 Page Views

  • Posts: 337
  • Registered: ‎11-13-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 4968
  • Message 1 of 11

What digitizer can I use?

2010-11-18, 22:45 PM

Hi there,

 

I have an X61 tablet, 7767 A4U, and want to buy a new digitizer pen. I come to ask if I can use a X41 or any other digitizer in my touch-laptop?

 

By the way, can I make my screen finger-touchable, just through updating the software? My computer is only penable now, not for finger-touch.

 

Thanks.

Xiaodong

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
TPs own: X31 (2003), X61T, X200T, Tablet 2, P50 (2016); Win XP-10, Ubuntu8.04-16.04.
Reply
Options

4436 Posts

01-22-2010

United States of America

38823 Signins

587231 Page Views

  • Posts: 4436
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 587231
  • Message 2 of 11

Re: What digitizer can I use?

2010-11-19, 15:31 PM

i believe an x41 pen will work but it probably won't fit in your holder and the eraser won't work. a gateway m275 pen will also work but again no eraser and it probably won't fit the holder.  i'm using an x41 pen in a gateway m275 tablet and it works fine.

 

check in device manager under human interface devices and see if there is anything listed like, touch panel driver or HID-wacf008 or Gunze. not all x61's came with multi-touch screens.  from what i understand the viewing quality of the multi-touch is less than the pen version. probably because of the extra layer on the screen.  if you had multi-touch it would respond to your finger. 


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

4436 Posts

01-22-2010

United States of America

38823 Signins

587231 Page Views

  • Posts: 4436
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 587231
  • Message 3 of 11

Re: What digitizer can I use?

2010-11-19, 15:52 PM

you can do a touch screen mod for your machine if you feel comfortable changing out screens.


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

337 Posts

11-13-2010

United States of America

542 Signins

4968 Page Views

  • Posts: 337
  • Registered: ‎11-13-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 4968
  • Message 4 of 11

Re: What digitizer can I use?

2010-11-20, 22:09 PM

My screen does not respond to my finger... and I cannot find any information about the pen or multitouch in the "devices/human interface" options. Anyway, I should only purchase the X61 digitizer and I cannot make my x61 to be multitouchable through software updating, right?

 

I am using Windows 7 pro x86 OS.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
TPs own: X31 (2003), X61T, X200T, Tablet 2, P50 (2016); Win XP-10, Ubuntu8.04-16.04.
Reply
Options

4436 Posts

01-22-2010

United States of America

38823 Signins

587231 Page Views

  • Posts: 4436
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 587231
  • Message 5 of 11

Re: What digitizer can I use?

2010-11-21, 0:17 AM

right.


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

11857 Posts

01-02-2010

United States of America

40158 Signins

422494 Page Views

  • Posts: 11857
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 422494
  • Message 6 of 11

Re: What digitizer can I use?

2010-11-24, 23:45 PM

You need the digitizer that matches your cable. Most x61 tablets came with G5 digitizers and most x60 tablets have G4, but the cable attaches at different places so the digitizer must match the cable. You can check the screen your machine had when it was built at this link, but if you are not the original owner, it could gave been changed.  (If the machine is apart, the G4 digitizer is a bronze color and the G5 is silver) 

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/product.do?doctypeind=10&template=%2Fpartslookup%2FpartsLookup.vm&sitestyle=lenovo


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
Reply
Options

337 Posts

11-13-2010

United States of America

542 Signins

4968 Page Views

  • Posts: 337
  • Registered: ‎11-13-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 4968
  • Message 7 of 11

Re: What digitizer can I use?

2010-11-25, 1:05 AM

Thank you all.

 

Through the link, I do find the information for the digitizer:

 

12.1-in. SXGA+ TFT, protection plate, direct bonding, digitizer assembly G5.

Product ID: 13N7235

 

But it's assembled with the 12.1 inch LCD screen. Do I need to change them together?

And also, the bezel is broken. I want to fix the bezel at least.

 

I am not the original owner of the tablet...

 

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
TPs own: X31 (2003), X61T, X200T, Tablet 2, P50 (2016); Win XP-10, Ubuntu8.04-16.04.
Reply
Options

11857 Posts

01-02-2010

United States of America

40158 Signins

422494 Page Views

  • Posts: 11857
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 422494
  • Message 8 of 11

Re: What digitizer can I use?

2010-11-25, 17:51 PM
The digitizer can be replaced by itself, however, they are not sold separately, but I think that is not your real question. Replacing the digitizer does not give you finger-touch. The touch screens are entirely different and are not available in sxga+ resolution

Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
Reply
Options

337 Posts

11-13-2010

United States of America

542 Signins

4968 Page Views

  • Posts: 337
  • Registered: ‎11-13-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 4968
  • Message 9 of 11

Re: What digitizer can I use?

2010-11-25, 19:28 PM

I don't want the finger touch feature any more, at present. This feature can make my screen dark and oily in some sense.

 

My present question is how can I get the right digitizer with a proper price?

 

The digitizers in Lenovo's website are labelled with a very high price ($54) along with high shipping fees. And, I have skimmed the Ebay. But they do not label G4 or G5 with the products, some products with a low price even not mentioning "designed for Thinkpad".

 

Can you guys give me some suggestions? Thanks very much!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
TPs own: X31 (2003), X61T, X200T, Tablet 2, P50 (2016); Win XP-10, Ubuntu8.04-16.04.
Reply
Options

4436 Posts

01-22-2010

United States of America

38823 Signins

587231 Page Views

  • Posts: 4436
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 587231
  • Message 10 of 11

Re: What digitizer can I use?

2010-11-25, 20:21 PM

http://computers.shop.ebay.com/?_from=R40&_npmv=3&_trksid=p3910.m570.l1313&_nkw=x61+pen&_sacat=58058

 

this is the entire list of pens that will work with your machine.  some of them have fru numbers. at least most of them have free shipping. i would stay away from the used ones.  you won't know the battery life left in them. 


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms