Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Rich_Carpenter
Punch Card
Views: 1,674
Message 1 of 5

What do you use your X200 tablet for?

I'm in the market for a new notebook, and I've really become enamored with the X200 tablet. Well, actually it was the X301 that first caught my eye, but it's just not fully-featured enough for me. Too bad, as I really liked the weight and the WXGA+ on a 13.3" display.

Anyway, I'm a Windows applications developer, and I'm trying to determine the X200 tablet's suitability for my needs. As a programmer, I can always make use of additional display resolution, but I've simulated some WXGA screenshots on a 12.1" display, and I'm thinking it could work for me.

I'd appreciate it if others could chime in here with what they use their own X200 tablet for on a regular basis and how well it performs and displays those tasks.

Thanks.

dnevis
Punch Card
Views: 1,621
Message 2 of 5

Re: What do you use your X200 tablet for?

Hi Rich,

I use my X200 Tablet for everything and cannot say enough good things about it. I wear many hats right now Director of IT, Student, and believe or not I take it to church. I take my tablet everywhere! Currently I'm taken a Marketing class and DB design class and use it for notes and for MS Access running on windows 7 BETA. I have owned the all the X series tablets since the x41 which still run. Some of the problems I run into with DB design is the smaller screen but really it is not a huge factor because I'm in class when I'm at work I use the dock with 24" widescreen. I take my tablet to meetings, give presentations, and use it in place on my desktop.

The only thing I would caution against is the process power for your type of development. For example it does not encode video as fast as a desktop but it can do it better than other notebooks in it's class. If you need speed and screen size try the W700 series with WACOM digitizer pad.