Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
skandal_h
Paper Tape
Views: 2,306
Message 1 of 3

X230 tablet - Windows 10 and 7 problems

Hey guys,

I'm new on this forum and I'm also new in using X230 tablet or any 2-in-1 laptop.

This is my second ThinkPad but first convertible laptop.

About problems. Shortly after I've got this ThinkPad I've installed Windows 10 because in my opinnion it works better and IS better than Win7. But after installation, I've encountered a few problems.

First problem was no auto rotation - I could do that only by installing drivers for Tablet Buttons (it didn't bother me that much as next few problems).

Second problem was not working Dolby Profile - anyone has suggestions why? I've read that eccp4.exe or something like that is not supported in Win10. The only thing with Dolby that did work was Dolby Digital Plus (and the equalizer there is horrible!).

And third, and also MAIN problem was random screen touches. Did anyone encountered this kind of problem on yours X230 tablet? It happened only when I was fully in "tablet mode". Like for example I was doing some notes on classes and A LOT of times Action Center came up. With no touch from my side - I was only writing notes or not even touching the screen. Also normal touches appeared, not only Action Center sliding. Firstly I've got a little scared because it's used laptop bought on something like ebay. But my second thought was to go back to Win7 from recovery (which didn't work with F8, I've used SWM/WIM tutorial to fully recover system).

And finally it seems that this problem doesn't occur on Win7. When I'm in full "tablet mode" there's no random touches or anything like that. But main problem is german version of software. Hopefully there is fabric installed en_US language which I set to default, haha.

But what do you guys think. Could it be the touch driver bug for X230t in Win10? Or it's really digitizer fault and I've got faulty model?