cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
shinghan
Punch Card
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-25-2009
Location: Canada
Views: 5,675
Message 1 of 7

X61s: High physical memory usage o.o

Hey everyone! I've been having troubles trying to reduce my X61's physical memory usage ever since I bought it and it won't go down since. There about 103 processess running...that looks bad to me, especially with 3 gb ram. Is there a guide to reducing physical memory that someone could direct me to? Or maybe even someone here could help? Thanks a lot

 

Moderator note: Type added to subject line for clarity.

Message Edited by Agotthelf on 29-04-2009 09:12 AM
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 2,939
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Location: US
Views: 5,674
Message 2 of 7

Re: High physical memory usage o.o

hello welcome to the forums!

 

Can you tell what kind of programs are you suing on your system?and the OS?i guess it must be vista.If you have any programs in the startup try disabling which you may feel are not useful for startup.

 

If your system still gobbles up lots of memory try disabling windows aero.tell us if you are using any memory intensive application.if possible please post a screen shot of your task manager with the processes tab so that i can see what programs are causing you the trouble!

 

 

 

shinghan
Punch Card
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-25-2009
Location: Canada
Views: 5,657
Message 3 of 7

Re: High physical memory usage o.o

Well I have DiskKeeper and ZoneAlarm that are always on. And yes it is a Vista x32 Home Premium. I already disabled windows aero but it looks like no difference. Im not sure what I can disable and what I cannot because most seem relevant to my laptop.

Memory is usually at 50% but when I try a game or use office 2007, it goes up to around 60-65% 

 

http://g.imagehost.org/view/0394/Task1

 

http://g.imagehost.org/view/0593/Task2

 

http://g.imagehost.org/view/0538/Task3

 

http://g.imagehost.org/view/0391/Task4

 

Sry I dont know how to post a picture o.o

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 2,939
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Location: US
Views: 5,645
Message 4 of 7

Re: High physical memory usage o.o

Ive had a look at your screen shots try disabling these at startup

 

1.groove monitor

2.dkservice.exe(diskeeper)

3.dkicon.exe (diskeeper)

4.dlg.exe(dlg.exe is a part of BVRP Phone Tools software suite. It offers faxing, phone book, e-mailing and more. This is a non-essential process)

5.igfxtray.exe(intel graphics) removes icon from startup

6.juscheck.exe(java)

7.juschad.exe(java)

8. msnmsgr.exe(windows live messenger)

9. tuneup utilities

10. winampa(winamp)

 

I see that you are using multiple security products here(norton system security,bit defender,zonealarm firewall).Use any one of them...preferably norton if its the 2009 edition..vista's firewall is a pretty strong two way  firewall as well..so you coould remove zonealarm if you wish

 

I dont know what  utilites you use in thinkvantage system.do you use acess connections or presentation director if not disable them as well

 

hope this helps you

 

 

 

 

Message Edited by samavedam_vijay on 04-26-2009 07:37 AM
mambaum
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-27-2009
Location: Amsterdam
Views: 5,622
Message 5 of 7

Re: High physical memory usage o.o

Try sysinternals for enable/disable startup stuff. It's only recently been bought by Microsoft, so it's very good ;-) You can turn something of and renable it later if you disabled something you didn't wanted to.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb963902.aspx

 

Furthermore I am still puzzled by the prefetching stuff of Mickeysofts Vista.

I disabled it on my ACER and do not see any difference in startup of programs, but I do start up with 204Mb...running Vista Ultimate...somewhat tuned ;-).

 

Some other big memory improvements:

1) Get rid of AERO.

2) Get rid of the sidebar

3) Use a lean anti-virus solution McAfee is easily doing 90Mb where ESET (as on my ACER)

    is doing some 15Mb.

 4) Go through the systinternals view of processes and if in doubt check with:

    http://www.liutilities.com/products/wintaskspro/processlibrary/

    http://www.processlibrary.com/

    There you can find more info on the process itself.

 

 I log anything I install...so if this isn't enough it might look en see if there is more.

shinghan
Punch Card
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-25-2009
Location: Canada
Views: 5,614
Message 6 of 7

Re: High physical memory usage o.o

Thanks for the extra help! =D Switched my antivirus. It did reduce the usage a bit. I also disabled ZoneAlarm, which actually played a big role in the usage o.o. Are there any other firewalls I could use that anyone can recommend? Actually, I think a better question is what protection (antivirus, firewall, spyware) should I use that do not demand a lot of mem usage, but are reliable?

 

On a side note, could someone recommend protections for Vista x64? I find it hard to find anything available o.o

mambaum
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-27-2009
Location: Amsterdam
Views: 5,601
Message 7 of 7

Re: High physical memory usage o.o

http://www.eset.com/smartsecurity/

That's what I use.

Lean and mean, has anti-virus, firewall, anti-spyware.

And there is a 64bit version, as there is a Linux version.

If I didn't get McAfee for free on all my PCs at home through my ISP I think I would have moved away form the system&memory hog McAfree.

 

 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors