cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
miperelman
SCSI Port
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Location: cal
Views: 1,173
Message 1 of 6

reimaging to an external hard drive

I have two hard drives.   I would like to reimage one to a hard drive connected via a usb connector.  Isn't there a way to boot from an external devise?  If so how & if so can I reimage the external hard drive?

achim19890
HDMI
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎09-29-2011
Location: Germany
Views: 1,137
Message 2 of 6

Re: reimaging to an external hard drive

I think there a lot of programs out there which would do the job but my favourite is  "Acronis Trueimage". With this program you can clone your system disc to e.g. an external disc. It will make an exact copy of the disc with paths and registry and mbr and so on. You just have to select the external disc as your booting device after restart.

##############################################################
Using x230t (i5-3320M, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, 80GB mSata-SSD) and loving it!

"I may not own the world but I own my mind and therefore the world is at my feets." (me)
##############################################################
miperelman
SCSI Port
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Location: cal
Views: 1,130
Message 3 of 6

Re: reimaging to an external hard drive

Thank you very much.  I want to boot to the external drive & then reimage it.  Then use Acronis to copy the image to the hard drive attachned internally.

 

Michael

achim19890
HDMI
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎09-29-2011
Location: Germany
Views: 1,121
Message 4 of 6

Re: reimaging to an external hard drive

What do you mean by "I want to boot to the external drive & then reimage it."? Do already have system on this external HD or do you want to install and configure a new system on it before cloning it to your internal HD?

##############################################################
Using x230t (i5-3320M, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, 80GB mSata-SSD) and loving it!

"I may not own the world but I own my mind and therefore the world is at my feets." (me)
##############################################################
miperelman
SCSI Port
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Location: cal
Views: 1,109
Message 5 of 6

Re: reimaging to an external hard drive

exactly.  Can I boot to an expernal hard drive & then reimage it & leave the internal drive temporarily unaffected.

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 406
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Views: 1,084
Message 6 of 6

Re: reimaging to an external hard drive

Hello miperelman,

 

If you go into BIOS while the external drive is connected and it actually shows up, then yes you can treat the external drive exactly like an internal drive.  If it does not show up in BIOS then no you can't boot from it.  Another way of checking is do a temporary boot from the thinkpad splash screen.  Just like you would boot into BIOS with F1, just press F12 to go into the start-up interruption screen.  Then F12 again to pick a temporary start-up device.  If your device is on this screen then it will work, if not then no.  Check this first and if you need further help just let us know.

 

Hope this helps,

 

Alex


Was this or another post on the forum helpful? Click the star on the left side of the screen to give kudos! Did someone solve the problem you encountered? Click Solution Provided to let us know!

What we Do in Life will Echo through Eternity. -Maximus Aurelius

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals