Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Location: USA
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Lenovo RD120 Array configuration

Is RAID 50 an array configuration option for this server with proper hard drive selection?
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: Lenovo RD120 Array configuration

I should have been more specifc about the type. It is 6447-23U.

Thanks!

Posts: 5,215
Solutions: 569
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: United States
0 Kudos

Re: Lenovo RD120 Array configuration

[ Edited ]

welcome to the forum!

 

the RD120 supports RAID 0, 1, 5, 10, 50, and 60.

 

 

Admin update:  install an external raid card (the MR10M SAS/SATA Controller [0,1,5,6,10,50,60]) to get 50 and 60.

 

 

Message Edited by Mark_Lenovo on 02-04-2009 09:28 AM

ThinkStation C20      ThinkPad X1C · X220 · X60T · 600Microsoft MVP

Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: Lenovo RD120 Array configuration

Thanks you, Erik. I have a new RD120 and I can not see that RAID 50 is an option in the Array Configuration Utility. I have not found any reference to it on the Dicumentation CD. Can you get me started on how to configure?

 

 

Bill

Highlighted
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: Lenovo RD120 Array configuration

Erik, I seem to be missing the IBM ServeRAID Support CD that is mentioned in the documentation. Maybe that is what I need to complete the configuration. Thanks for you help.


Bill

Posts: 5,215
Solutions: 569
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: United States
0 Kudos

Re: Lenovo RD120 Array configuration

i would call IBM support (800-IBM-SERV) to obtain the CD and inquire about RAID 50 setup.   keep in mind that you'll need at least six drives installed for RAID 50.   without six drives, this may not show up as an option.

ThinkStation C20      ThinkPad X1C · X220 · X60T · 600Microsoft MVP

Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: Lenovo RD120 Array configuration

Thanks again, Erik. I found a place to download the support CD and will escalate to IBM support if I can't get it done. I'll post results. I can't wait to get this server up and running!
Posts: 8,335
Topics: 422
Kudos: 1,442
Solutions: 319
Registered: ‎11-19-2007
Location: RTP, North Carolina
0 Kudos

Re: Lenovo RD120 Array configuration

 

Bill,

 

Just as an update, our engineering made some clarifications to the product reference sheets and offered the following guidance:

 

The RAID 8k adapter for the RD120 servers only supports Raid versions (0,1,1E,5,6,10)

Installation of  an external raid card (the MR10M SAS/SATA Controller [0,1,5,6,10,50,60]) to get 50 and 60.

 

____________________________________________

ThinkPads: S30, T43, X60t, X1, W700ds, IdeaPad Y710, IdeaCentre: A300, IdeaPad K1
Mark Hopkins
Program Manager, Lenovo Social Media (Services)
twitter @lenovoforums
English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество