Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Location: USA
Message 1 of 8 (19,814 Views)

Lenovo RD120 Array configuration

Is RAID 50 an array configuration option for this server with proper hard drive selection?
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Location: USA
Message 2 of 8 (19,812 Views)

Re: Lenovo RD120 Array configuration

I should have been more specifc about the type. It is 6447-23U.

Thanks!

Posts: 5,300
Solutions: 586
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: US
Message 3 of 8 (19,800 Views)

Re: Lenovo RD120 Array configuration

[ Edited ]

welcome to the forum!

 

the RD120 supports RAID 0, 1, 5, 10, 50, and 60.

 

 

Admin update:  install an external raid card (the MR10M SAS/SATA Controller [0,1,5,6,10,50,60]) to get 50 and 60.

 

 

Message Edited by Mark_Lenovo on 02-04-2009 09:28 AM

ThinkStation C20      ThinkPad P40 · X220 · 600

Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Location: USA
Message 4 of 8 (19,791 Views)

Re: Lenovo RD120 Array configuration

Thanks you, Erik. I have a new RD120 and I can not see that RAID 50 is an option in the Array Configuration Utility. I have not found any reference to it on the Dicumentation CD. Can you get me started on how to configure?

 

 

Bill

Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Location: USA
Message 5 of 8 (19,785 Views)

Re: Lenovo RD120 Array configuration

Erik, I seem to be missing the IBM ServeRAID Support CD that is mentioned in the documentation. Maybe that is what I need to complete the configuration. Thanks for you help.


Bill

Posts: 5,300
Solutions: 586
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: US
Message 6 of 8 (19,780 Views)

Re: Lenovo RD120 Array configuration

i would call IBM support (800-IBM-SERV) to obtain the CD and inquire about RAID 50 setup.   keep in mind that you'll need at least six drives installed for RAID 50.   without six drives, this may not show up as an option.

ThinkStation C20      ThinkPad P40 · X220 · 600

Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Location: USA
Message 7 of 8 (19,777 Views)

Re: Lenovo RD120 Array configuration

Thanks again, Erik. I found a place to download the support CD and will escalate to IBM support if I can't get it done. I'll post results. I can't wait to get this server up and running!
Posts: 8,584
Topics: 428
Kudos: 1,527
Solutions: 346
Registered: ‎11-19-2007
Location: US
Message 8 of 8 (18,919 Views)

Re: Lenovo RD120 Array configuration

 

Bill,

 

Just as an update, our engineering made some clarifications to the product reference sheets and offered the following guidance:

 

The RAID 8k adapter for the RD120 servers only supports Raid versions (0,1,1E,5,6,10)

Installation of  an external raid card (the MR10M SAS/SATA Controller [0,1,5,6,10,50,60]) to get 50 and 60.

 

____________________________________________

ThinkPads: S30, T43, X60t, X1, X1 Carbon Gen 3, W700ds, IdeaPad Y710, IdeaCentre: A300, IdeaPad K1, ThinkPad tablet
Mark Hopkins
Program Manager, Lenovo Social Media (Services)
twitter @lenovoforums
English Community   Deutsche Community   Comunidad en Español   Русскоязычное Сообщество
top kudoed authors
User Kudos Count
1
1