Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Highlighted
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-11-2011
Location: Italia
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

TS130 (1106) and Hyper-V

Hello everyone,

I recently purchased a TS130 (1106), and installed Win Server 2008 R2 Enterprise.
After adding the Hyper-V I tried to create a virtual machine, but it does not start and displays a generic error.
With the tool I checked the Intel processor characteristics, and it seems not to have the Intel VT even if the data sheet shows the opposite.

The technical assistance of Lenovo can not help me, and I was assigned a coach who will be replacing the processor, but I'm not convinced that this will solve my problem.

Has anyone had the same problem?

Thanks to all

Lenovo Employee
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎04-17-2011
Location: RTP, North Carolina
0 Kudos

Re: TS130 (1106) and Hyper-V

Have you enabled Intel Virtualization Technology in BIOS?

 

You must first enable Intel Virtualization Technology in BIOS, and then install and configured the virtual servers using Hyper-V.

Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-11-2011
Location: Italia
0 Kudos

Re: TS130 (1106) and Hyper-V

I enabled Intel VT in bios and I re-installed hyper-v, but the result is the same.

I make a new attempt.

If you need more information ask as well.

Thanks
Lenovo Employee
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎04-17-2011
Location: RTP, North Carolina
0 Kudos

Re: TS130 (1106) and Hyper-V

Please make sure all of the following is enabled:

 

BIOS\Advanced\CPU Setup\Intel Virtualization technology

 

BIOS\Advanced\CPU Setup\VT-d

 

I have included a screen shot of BIOS to help. If this does not work, would you please verify and provide the chipset that is installed in your system as well as the S/N?

Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-11-2011
Location: Italia
0 Kudos

Re: TS130 (1106) and Hyper-V

[ Edited ]

I had enabled VT-d because it was specifically told not to do a post on Microsoft
Even after you activate it still does not work.

Lenovo ThinkServer TS130
Chipset Intel ID0108 Rev.09
Southbridge Intel ID1C56 Rev.05
CPU Intel Xeon E31235 3.2 Ghz

S/N XXXXXXX

 

 

(mod note: removed serial number from public view for security.  it can be accessed by forum staff if needed.)

Lenovo Employee
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎04-17-2011
Location: RTP, North Carolina
0 Kudos

Re: TS130 (1106) and Hyper-V

Thanks for the information. Your processor does indeed support Virtualization. I would not expect the processor replacement to fix your issue. It the interim, Would you please provide the steps you use to create a VM from start to finish up to and including the actual error message you are receiving.

 

We have been working here to replicate your issue and we installed W2K8 R2 on a TS130 and successfully created a Hyper-V role and then a VM. I would like to attempt to get as close as I can to exactly what you are doing to replicate your issue and resolve the problem you are having.

Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-11-2011
Location: Italia
0 Kudos

Re: TS130 (1106) and Hyper-V

From the management console Hyper-V I just new virtual machine, and follow the setup wizard.
When you start it you get the error.

I uploaded the picture on Flickr with the BIOS setting, the errors of Hyper-V and Intel tools.

 

Bios
http://www.flickr.com/photos/69801232@N06/6343920389/in/photostream

Hyper-V
http://www.flickr.com/photos/69801232@N06/6344668910/in/photostream

Intel PIU
http://www.flickr.com/photos/69801232@N06/6343919483/in/photostream

 

If you need more information ask as well.

I might try a fresh install, if that would help to solve the problem.

 

Thanks


Lenovo Employee
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎04-17-2011
Location: RTP, North Carolina

Re: TS130 (1106) and Hyper-V

Do you have SP1 installed? If not, please install SP1 as it appears to fix this issue that is related to the Intel CPU that supports the Advanced Vector Extensions (AVX) feature on a computer that is running Windows Server 2008 R2.

Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-11-2011
Location: Italia
0 Kudos

Re: TS130 (1106) and Hyper-V

I installed SP1 and now it works perfectly.

thanks

Lenovo Employee
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎04-17-2011
Location: RTP, North Carolina
0 Kudos

Re: TS130 (1106) and Hyper-V

You are most welcome! Have a great day!