Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Datacenter SystemsThinkServer
All Forum Topics
Options

54 Posts

02-12-2015

Canada

64 Signins

479 Page Views

  • Posts: 54
  • Registered: ‎02-12-2015
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 479
  • Message 1 of 9

RD350 no legacy HDs listed

2015-06-09, 17:34 PM

Hi there. I have a new Lenovo ThinkServer RD350. I am trying to install Ubuntu 14 server 64bit on it. I'd prefer to use the Legacy boot option instead of UEFI. I set the BIOS options to Legacy only, went into the LSI MegaRAID controller and created the virtual drive (RAID5). The server sees my Legacy USB CD-ROM under boot options, boots the Ubuntu 14 installer from it. Ubuntu server installer sees the virtual drive I created and installs Ubuntu OK. When it completes and the server reboots, nothing happens because no boot disks are listed. The only boot device listed is the Legacy DVD-Rom drive. How do I get the server to see the drive I just created?

 

Thanks in advance,

Sir_Timbit

Reply
Options

542 Posts

01-30-2014

United States of America

958 Signins

11365 Page Views

  • Posts: 542
  • Registered: ‎01-30-2014
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 11365
  • Message 2 of 9

Re: RD350 no legacy HDs listed

2015-06-10, 10:58 AM
Hi sir_timbit,

Did you also change the 'Storage OpROM Policy" under the boot options menu to Legacy Only? You can change the boot mode to Legacy Only, but you must also change the Storage OpROM Policy as well.
Reply
Options

54 Posts

02-12-2015

Canada

64 Signins

479 Page Views

  • Posts: 54
  • Registered: ‎02-12-2015
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 479
  • Message 3 of 9

Re: RD350 no legacy HDs listed

2015-06-10, 15:24 PM

Thanks. I didn't see that option. I just changed it to Legacy and restarted everything. Once again, the boot manager saw my legacy DVD-ROM drive and I was able to start the Ubuntu installer. However, unlike last time, the install fails when it tries to install the GRUB bootloader. It was able to do that before, so I doubt it's the DVD, but will try on USB.

Reply
Options

542 Posts

01-30-2014

United States of America

958 Signins

11365 Page Views

  • Posts: 542
  • Registered: ‎01-30-2014
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 11365
  • Message 4 of 9

Re: RD350 no legacy HDs listed

2015-06-10, 17:05 PM

Hello,

 

Within BIOS, tab over to "Boot Options", then select "Miscellaneous Boot Settings". There you should see "Storage OpROM Policy", try setting it to Legacy Only.  The default setting is UEFI Only.  Let us know if that helps or not.

 

biossim.PNG

 

Additionally, if you want to play with the BIOS settings that are available, but not try them on your system, we do have a BIOS Simulator you can check out and go through the different options.

Reply
Options

54 Posts

02-12-2015

Canada

64 Signins

479 Page Views

  • Posts: 54
  • Registered: ‎02-12-2015
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 479
  • Message 5 of 9

Re: RD350 no legacy HDs listed

2015-06-10, 19:19 PM

No luck so far. This time I installed Ubuntu 14 LTS Server from USB. I changed the Storage OpROM policy to legacy, redid the virtual drive etc just to be on the safe side, and booted the Ubuntu installer from "Legacy USB" (as opposed to UEFI. No errors completing the GRUB configuration this time, but once again, no boot. following restart. Pressing F12 for Startup boot device lists only "Legacy RAID PCI RAID Adapter" as the only option once I removed my USB drive. The only thing I get is a blinking cursor...

Reply
Options

542 Posts

01-30-2014

United States of America

958 Signins

11365 Page Views

  • Posts: 542
  • Registered: ‎01-30-2014
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 11365
  • Message 6 of 9

Re: RD350 no legacy HDs listed

2015-06-11, 12:06 PM
Hi,

Ubuntu was not validated on the RD350 and unfortunately, I'm not sure what else to try on this one. Perhaps someone has done this successfully and could chime in for this one.

Let us know if you figure out a solution as well as it would be nice to know if you're able to get it working.

Good Luck!
Reply
Options

54 Posts

02-12-2015

Canada

64 Signins

479 Page Views

  • Posts: 54
  • Registered: ‎02-12-2015
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 479
  • Message 7 of 9

Re: RD350 no legacy HDs listed

2015-06-11, 15:07 PM

OK. I know it did install successfully using UEFI. My preference was to use Legacy, but if UEFI is my only option, then I guess that's what I'll have to do...

Reply
Options

6 Posts

10-17-2015

central eu

16 Signins

47 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎10-17-2015
  • Location: central eu
  • Views: 47
  • Message 8 of 9

Re: RD350 no legacy HDs listed

2015-10-20, 13:34 PM

Hello, 

 

did you manage to install Ubuntu 14 on RD350 ? What is your configuration ? Are you using SW RAID?

 

Thank you for reply !

Reply
Options

54 Posts

02-12-2015

Canada

64 Signins

479 Page Views

  • Posts: 54
  • Registered: ‎02-12-2015
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 479
  • Message 9 of 9

Re: RD350 no legacy HDs listed

2017-06-27, 16:56 PM

My solutions was to use UEFI not legacy.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms

Most Liked Authors

(Last 7 days)

View All