English Community

Datacenter SystemsThinkServer
All Forum Topics
Options

6 Posts

06-16-2020

US

7 Signins

40 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎06-16-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 40
  • Message 1 of 12

TS140 Drive Replacement

2020-06-16, 19:35 PM

Greetings,

 

There are 3 drives in the system, two 500's and a single TB. The TB started making noise the other day. The RAID configuration boot splash screen reports a degraded drive (screenshot attached). I ran the Hard Drive test utility via a USB thumb drive, it reports an issue with the TB drive (log file attached).  The drive in question is a Seagate ST1000NM0033, (Lenovo P/N SL10A28305  FRU: 03T7792).  Must I have the EXACT same drive to replace it?  I ordered a ST1000NM0033 online but received a 53, which from what I understand allows encryption, instead of a 33.  Will this drive work?

 

Thanks in advance for any help.

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

389 Posts

03-07-2017

TW

1936 Signins

29433 Page Views

  • Posts: 389
  • Registered: ‎03-07-2017
  • Location: TW
  • Views: 29433
  • Message 2 of 12

Re:TS140 Drive Replacement

2020-06-17, 1:53 AM

Hi kcmule

 

Theoretically, as long as the same hard drive capacity, it can be exchanged

Please feel free to leave your comment, thank you for support Lenovo
Reply
Options

6 Posts

06-16-2020

US

7 Signins

40 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎06-16-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 40
  • Message 3 of 12

Re:TS140 Drive Replacement

2020-06-17, 2:20 AM
Hi Ryan, Ok Thanks. That's good. Using this procedure? https://datacentersupport.lenovo.com/us/en/products/servers/thinkserver/ts140/solutions/ht507728 Another screenshot that lists the non-raid disk attached.
20200608_113126.jpg
Reply
Options

389 Posts

03-07-2017

TW

1936 Signins

29433 Page Views

  • Posts: 389
  • Registered: ‎03-07-2017
  • Location: TW
  • Views: 29433
  • Message 4 of 12

Re:TS140 Drive Replacement

2020-06-17, 2:57 AM

Hi kcmule

 

Yes, you only need to follow the steps in the article to replace the failed disk.

https://datacentersupport.lenovo.com/products/servers/thinkserver/ts140/solutions/ht507728

Please feel free to leave your comment, thank you for support Lenovo
Reply
Options

6 Posts

06-16-2020

US

7 Signins

40 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎06-16-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 40
  • Message 5 of 12

Re:TS140 Drive Replacement

2020-06-17, 17:23 PM

Ryan,

 

That procedure does not work for my system/config.  There is no "Mark Disks as Spare" option when going through those motions. I'm confused on how I can have two mirror configs in this system with only three drives.  Edit to add:  Unless you are saying stop at step 3, but will that retain the existing configuration?

Reply
Options

614 Posts

09-04-2018

US

872 Signins

18439 Page Views

  • Posts: 614
  • Registered: ‎09-04-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 18439
  • Message 6 of 12

Re:TS140 Drive Replacement

2020-06-18, 2:44 AM

Hi kcmule,

Please refer to Intel's User manual from Page 24-27. This describes the procedure used to reset a disk to non-RAID and select a disk to initial the RAID rebuild. 

Reply
Options

389 Posts

03-07-2017

TW

1936 Signins

29433 Page Views

  • Posts: 389
  • Registered: ‎03-07-2017
  • Location: TW
  • Views: 29433
  • Message 7 of 12

Re:TS140 Drive Replacement

2020-06-18, 3:29 AM

Hi kcmule 

 

As far as I know, all 4 disks installed in your TS140 have been configured. Therefore, you do not have other unallocated disk available for the system to assign to spare disk. 

 

The physical ID 0, 1 are Volume 0 (mirror); physical ID 2, 3 are Volume 1 (mirror).

 

But you can see on the screenshot, the free space of physical ID 2 disk is only 3.8 GB left, and it is excluded as a Non-RAID Disk, which is the faulty disk( I suppose).

 

So the following steps you need to do is:...

  1. Normally shut down the machine and disconnect power cable.
  2. Replace the failed HDD(physical ID 2)
  3. Start up the machine then press CTRL-I to bring up the Intel Rapid Storage Technology Configuration Utility
  4. There should be a prompt "degrade volume detected" and one available disk for rebuilding. Select to mark the disk as spare.
  5. The rebuild procedure should be start rebuilding automatically. 

 

Please feel free to leave your comment, thank you for support Lenovo

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

6 Posts

06-16-2020

US

7 Signins

40 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎06-16-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 40
  • Message 8 of 12

Re:TS140 Drive Replacement

2020-06-18, 14:14 PM

Ryan,

 

Thanks for the link to Intel's documentation.  My original examination of the system revealed only 3 drives, which didn't make sense because  there were two mirror configurations.  Upon further examination (which should have blatantly obvious!) there was a 4th drive in the top bay "hidden" under a slim optical drive.  This makes MUCH more sense now! I replaced the newly discovered drive and the rebuild process was initiated.  I'll reboot the system later to verify a degraded volume no longer exists. 

 

Thanks for your help. Much appreciated. 

Reply
Options

389 Posts

03-07-2017

TW

1936 Signins

29433 Page Views

  • Posts: 389
  • Registered: ‎03-07-2017
  • Location: TW
  • Views: 29433
  • Message 9 of 12

Re:TS140 Drive Replacement

2020-06-19, 2:42 AM

Glad to help :)

 

If this can help you solve the problem, please mark the thread as resolved. Thank you.

Please feel free to leave your comment, thank you for support Lenovo
Reply
Options

6 Posts

06-16-2020

US

7 Signins

40 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎06-16-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 40
  • Message 10 of 12

Re:TS140 Drive Replacement

2020-06-19, 14:47 PM

Ryan,

 

As soon as I verify the drive is no longer degraded (today?) I'll mark this issue as resolved.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete