Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Datacenter SystemsThinkServer
All Forum Topics
Options

6 Posts

06-13-2018

United States of America

16 Signins

65 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 65
  • Message 1 of 9

TS140 PSU failure?

2018-06-13, 22:51 PM

Hello:

 

I have a TS140 that has been working great, but I came home today and it was powered off. I thought it was weird since it is set to power back on after an outage, and also weird since there was no outage. I hit the power button and the fans spun up for a few seconds but then stopped. No beeps, no lights, nothing. I checked pins four and five on the PSU; I get 4.6v, but nothing happens when I jump them.

It’s on a surge protector. I’ve tried different outlets.

 

It there another/better way to test the PSU or should I assume it's dead?

 

Thanks.

Reply
Options

209 Posts

05-11-2017

China

530 Signins

3313 Page Views

  • Posts: 209
  • Registered: ‎05-11-2017
  • Location: China
  • Views: 3313
  • Message 2 of 9

Re: TS140 PSU failure?

2018-06-14, 6:19 AM

 

  Hi aaronaaron,    

 

            Here is the TS140 ATX power connector pin definition of the MB side for your reference,  the connector  print screen is J23. You can check the power out of 12v/5v/ PSON/POK signals .

            If you have more than one TS140 you can do ABA test with the other  PSU.

 

 J23  
GNDPin8Pin112v
GNDPin9Pin212v
GNDPin10Pin312v
5VSBPin11Pin4-12v
POKPin12Pin5no connected
PSONPin13Pin6no connected
 PMETERPin14Pin7GND

 

 

In additation, you can try to reseat the memories/Power cables/CPU/CMOS battery of the MB and restart the server and see if it can recover normally. 

Thanks!

Reply
Options

6 Posts

06-13-2018

United States of America

16 Signins

65 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 65
  • Message 3 of 9

Re: TS140 PSU failure?

2018-06-22, 17:30 PM
OK, so after hitting the power button, I get 12v on 1, 2, and 3 (and -12 on 4) and all fans spin up for a second but then everything goes to zero and the fans stop. And 11 always get 4.96v when the power supply is connected.

I've tried reseating everything. And I don't have another TS140 to test with.

Any other suggestions? What can I test with the POK and PSON? Thanks.
Reply
Options

6 Posts

06-13-2018

United States of America

16 Signins

65 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 65
  • Message 4 of 9

Re: TS140 PSU failure?

2018-06-24, 1:56 AM
After I ground Pin 13, the PSU fan runs. Does that mean the power supply is good? Thanks.
Reply
Options

209 Posts

05-11-2017

China

530 Signins

3313 Page Views

  • Posts: 209
  • Registered: ‎05-11-2017
  • Location: China
  • Views: 3313
  • Message 5 of 9

Re: TS140 PSU failure?

2018-06-26, 6:16 AM

      It seems that the DC  voltage output is normal but it is dfficult to judge if the power supply is good. You'd better ask local service for help and do ABA test with another good power supply.

      What about removing the AC power source and change another AC input interface?

 

 

 

Reply
Options

6 Posts

06-13-2018

United States of America

16 Signins

65 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 65
  • Message 6 of 9

Re: TS140 PSU failure?

2018-06-26, 16:56 PM

Thanks for your help, Grace.  So, another thing I just tried: I removed the CPU and powered it up.  Everything spun up (fans and drives) and stayed up. No beeps, no video signal (from the onboard VGA), though.  Ethernet connection lights up when the network cable is connected.  I don't have any other PSUs like this one, so I guess I'd have to buy one.  I guess the only other thing I can easily (cheaply) test is putting a different CPU in there.  Shouldn't I at least be getting beep codes?

Reply
Options

209 Posts

05-11-2017

China

530 Signins

3313 Page Views

  • Posts: 209
  • Registered: ‎05-11-2017
  • Location: China
  • Views: 3313
  • Message 7 of 9

Re: TS140 PSU failure?

2018-06-27, 7:06 AM

Hi aaronaaron,   

 

         On board VGA signals are integrated into CPU for TS140 machine and BIOS is not working without CPU  so no beeps in the situation and the following beep codes  for your reference, thanks!

 

 

Number of Beeps

Decoder

o  3 short 1 long beep 

Memory is not installed

o  3 long beep 

Recovery failed

o  1 long 3 short beep 

Flash update failed

o  4 long beep 

Pci bus out of resouce

 

 

Reply
Options

6 Posts

06-13-2018

United States of America

16 Signins

65 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 65
  • Message 8 of 9

Re: TS140 PSU failure?

2018-06-27, 18:05 PM
No video and no beeps makes sense. I'm just reluctant to buy a processor if that's not the problem. Will an E3-1225 v1 work or does it have to be a v3? What other processors will work?

Thanks for the codes.
Reply
Options

209 Posts

05-11-2017

China

530 Signins

3313 Page Views

  • Posts: 209
  • Registered: ‎05-11-2017
  • Location: China
  • Views: 3313
  • Message 9 of 9

Re: TS140 PSU failure?

2018-06-28, 1:09 AM

Here is the link for your reference about the processors of TS140, thanks!

 

https://lenovopress.com/lp0034-lenovo-thinkserver-ts140#processors

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms