Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Datacenter SystemsThinkServer
All Forum Topics
Options

22 Posts

05-28-2016

UK

20 Signins

164 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎05-28-2016
  • Location: UK
  • Views: 164
  • Message 1 of 10

TS140 - Temperature Sensor

2020-08-02, 17:52 PM

Can't find any information on what it's for or what it does/influences in the manual.
Anyone got any info? Thanks

 

 

Reply
Options

92 Posts

09-18-2015

China

108 Signins

1602 Page Views

  • Posts: 92
  • Registered: ‎09-18-2015
  • Location: China
  • Views: 1602
  • Message 2 of 10

TS140 - Temperature Sensor

2020-08-03, 0:58 AM
Dears, There is no detailed info about the system temperature sensor indeed in the manual/user guide. While, the system temperature sensor is usually used for monitoring/feedback the system temperature so that the system FAN can run suitably to make sure the system run in a health environment and finally for the machine run stably. Karl
Reply
Options

772 Posts

08-06-2018

United States of America

915 Signins

10054 Page Views

  • Posts: 772
  • Registered: ‎08-06-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 10054
  • Message 3 of 10

Re:TS140 - Temperature Sensor

2020-08-03, 1:35 AM

Hi ThatThinkPadGuy

 

The TS140 support Intelligent Cooling Engine (ICE) which actively monitors component temperatures in real-time and optimally adjusts the speeds of the fans to keep the system cooler and quieter.

You can find the option and setting in the BIOS-> Power page-> Intelligent Cooling Engine (ICE). Or you can refer TS140 user manual for more information.

Reply
Options

22 Posts

05-28-2016

UK

20 Signins

164 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎05-28-2016
  • Location: UK
  • Views: 164
  • Message 4 of 10

Re:TS140 - Temperature Sensor

2020-08-03, 10:42 AM

OK so the Temp Sensor is related to the PWM ICE settings yeah?

Reply
Options

772 Posts

08-06-2018

United States of America

915 Signins

10054 Page Views

  • Posts: 772
  • Registered: ‎08-06-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 10054
  • Message 5 of 10

Re:TS140 - Temperature Sensor

2020-08-04, 5:41 AM

Hi ThatThinkPadGuy

 

The ICE setting is not relate to system temperature or FAN only, user also need to set the ICE setting according to their system configuration.

Reply
Options

22 Posts

05-28-2016

UK

20 Signins

164 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎05-28-2016
  • Location: UK
  • Views: 164
  • Message 6 of 10

Re:TS140 - Temperature Sensor

2020-08-04, 10:17 AM

Well that was vague as could be...

Details Danny... explain.

Reply
Options

772 Posts

08-06-2018

United States of America

915 Signins

10054 Page Views

  • Posts: 772
  • Registered: ‎08-06-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 10054
  • Message 7 of 10

Re:TS140 - Temperature Sensor

2020-08-05, 6:37 AM

Hi ThatThinkPadGuy

 

Sorry for misunderstanding.

As I mentioned, the ICE setting actively monitors component temperatures in real-time and optimally adjusts the speeds of the fans to keep the system cooler and quieter. There are three options in the ICE setting, ex. Better Acoustic Performance, Better Thermal Performance or Full Speed mode. User can base on their configuration or environment to adjust ICE setting. 

The FAN speed will be adjusted with ICE mode setting or with system temperature in real-time. 

 

Reply
Options

22 Posts

05-28-2016

UK

20 Signins

164 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎05-28-2016
  • Location: UK
  • Views: 164
  • Message 8 of 10

Re:TS140 - Temperature Sensor

2020-08-05, 16:11 PM

Yes I gathered that was how ICE works and I understand the modes.
What role does the temperature sensor play?
if the temp sensor is disconnected, what does the system do then? Does it default into a particular mode in a panic to force system stability (ie. full speed and noise)
I'm trying to ascertain the role the sensor plays in how the motherboard operates and the ideal location for the temp sensor to be placed.

I'm starting to get the impression that this information is not available?

Reply
Options

772 Posts

08-06-2018

United States of America

915 Signins

10054 Page Views

  • Posts: 772
  • Registered: ‎08-06-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 10054
  • Message 9 of 10

Re:TS140 - Temperature Sensor

2020-08-06, 7:40 AM

Hi ThatThinkPadGuy

 

There is a thermal sensor connector on the TS140 motherboard, you can find it in the TS140 user guide. A temp sense cable will be connected to the motherboard to monitor system temperature. 

The sensor of the temp sense cable will be placed on the front side of the TS140 chassis as below picture. The temperature sensor monitors system temperature in real-time and optimally adjusts the speeds of the fans to keep the system cooler. If you do not connect the cable on the motherboard, the system FANs may run as full speed.

 

If you feel the information we provided was sufficient would you please mark one of the post as a solution so it can assist anyone else who runs into this question.

Reply
Options

772 Posts

08-06-2018

United States of America

915 Signins

10054 Page Views

  • Posts: 772
  • Registered: ‎08-06-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 10054
  • Message 10 of 10

Re:TS140 - Temperature Sensor

2020-08-10, 6:05 AM

Hi Sir,

 

Could you please check to see if you resolved your issue. If so please let us know what was done for future reference.

If one of the post provided you with the solution please consider marking this thread as complete.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms