Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkStationThinkStation Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

54 Posts

10-22-2008

USA

85 Signins

407 Page Views

  • Posts: 54
  • Registered: ‎10-22-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 407
  • Message 1 of 15

D20:Cannot Install to ANY disk

2010-04-06, 22:14 PM

Edit: I thought that this had to do with my SSD, but I got frustrated and tried to isntall to any hard drive, and I cannot isntall Windows, period. Same error message.

 

I have an almost new GSkill Falcon 128GB SSD which I have installed in my D20. It is connected tot he Marvell RAID controller, and shows up there normally. I currently have it as the only storage drive connected to the system. When I attempt to install Windows 7 Utlimate, I get to the "Where do you want to install Windows?" screen, where, after laoding the storage driver, I can see the drive, but when I attempt to isntall to it, I get the message "Setup was unable to create a new system partition or locate an existing system partition. See the Setup log files for more information."

 

However, when I remove the drive and attempt to view that log on another machine, I get a message that the drive must be formatted.

 

I can delete the exisiting partition, create a new one, or format the drive, but regardless, I get the same error message. I have also tried removing the drive and using another system to format it, but to no avail. I would really appreciate some help on this. Thanks

Reply
Options

5884 Posts

11-24-2007

United States of America

12810 Signins

291275 Page Views

  • Posts: 5884
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 291275
  • Message 2 of 15

Re: D20:Cannot Install to SSD

2010-04-06, 22:23 PM

since you have another machine to connect it to, open disk management (start > run > diskmgmt.exe) and verify that the drive has been initialized.   if not, right-click on the drive and select the initialize disk command.

 

once the drive has been initialized, you should see it during windows setup even without any active partitions.

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

Reply
Options

54 Posts

10-22-2008

USA

85 Signins

407 Page Views

  • Posts: 54
  • Registered: ‎10-22-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 407
  • Message 3 of 15

Re: D20:Cannot Install to SSD

2010-04-06, 22:27 PM

Thanks for the reply. I can already see the disk during isntall even if it does not have any active partitions.

Reply
Options

54 Posts

10-22-2008

USA

85 Signins

407 Page Views

  • Posts: 54
  • Registered: ‎10-22-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 407
  • Message 4 of 15

Re: D20:Cannot Install to SSD

2010-04-07, 0:01 AM
Well, I think that I figured the first error out: when I had USB HDD added to my startup list, I got the aforementioned error message. Once I removed the flash drive from my startup options, Windows setup proceeded normally through "Installing features."

Then I got the error message "Windows could not set the offline locale information. Error Code: 0x80FE0000."

I've googled the error code but haven't come up with anything definitive. I know that the media is good, I used it for an install a couple of days ago. I am doing a clean install. This is the only drive connected to the system (other than my optical drive) I've checked the date and time in my BIOS, both are correct. I've looked at the following two sources for answers:

http://www.howtofixcomputers.com/forums/windows-vista/trouble-installing-vista-upgrade-27404.html

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/forums/en-US/itprovistasetup/thread/55ba24e1-3105-4726-8f6f-b9997f20728b/

I'd really appreciat any and all help. Thanks
Reply
Options

5884 Posts

11-24-2007

United States of America

12810 Signins

291275 Page Views

  • Posts: 5884
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 291275
  • Message 5 of 15

Re: D20:Cannot Install to SSD

2010-04-07, 4:48 AM

something may be out of order in your boot list.   try changing the order of your SSD and optical and see if that helps.

 

(edit: typo)

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

Reply
Options

54 Posts

10-22-2008

USA

85 Signins

407 Page Views

  • Posts: 54
  • Registered: ‎10-22-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 407
  • Message 6 of 15

Re: D20:Cannot Install to SSD

2010-04-07, 21:35 PM

Thanks, I've tried that route several times (changnig the startup sequence), but it hasn't done anything to solve the problem.

Reply
Options

5884 Posts

11-24-2007

United States of America

12810 Signins

291275 Page Views

  • Posts: 5884
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 291275
  • Message 7 of 15

Re: D20:Cannot Install to SSD

2010-04-07, 21:56 PM

are you installing windows 7 from DVD?

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

Reply
Options

54 Posts

10-22-2008

USA

85 Signins

407 Page Views

  • Posts: 54
  • Registered: ‎10-22-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 407
  • Message 8 of 15

Re: D20:Cannot Install to SSD

2010-04-07, 23:53 PM

Yes, I'm currently installing from the DVD. I've tried two different discs, one of which I installed Windows from jsuta  couple of days ago. I'm currently working on setting up a flash drive to try installing that way.

Reply
Options

54 Posts

10-22-2008

USA

85 Signins

407 Page Views

  • Posts: 54
  • Registered: ‎10-22-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 407
  • Message 9 of 15

Re: D20:Cannot Install to SSD

2010-04-08, 0:41 AM

All right, so I have it narrowed down to something to do with the RAID driver/setup. The mobo has 5 SAS/SATA ports for the Marvell RAID, and three other SATA ports, ostensibly for disc drives.

 

I plugged my SSD into one of the ports for optical drives, and the installation went perfectly.

 

I'm still stumped.

Reply
Options

54 Posts

10-22-2008

USA

85 Signins

407 Page Views

  • Posts: 54
  • Registered: ‎10-22-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 407
  • Message 10 of 15

Re: D20:Cannot Install to SSD

2010-04-08, 1:15 AM

I also tried installing from a USB drive--same result

 

I appreciate the help so far, if there's anything, information-wise, that I could post that would potentially help, just let me know and I'll get it and post it.

 

I'm also considering contacting Lenovo directly; I'm getting a bit sick of having an expensive paperweight.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms