English Community

ThinkStationThinkStation Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

10-10-2009

Germany

4 Signins

10 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎10-10-2009
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 10
  • Message 1 of 4

D20 - no Hyperthreading with Xeon CPU ?

2009-10-10, 23:11 PM

Hallo,

 

since a few days I'm using very happily my new D20 thinkstation with one 5506 Xeon CPU. However, when I start the task manager in Vista or Server 2008 I always see 4 CPUs. But I would expect to see 8 CPUs due to the Hyperthreading feature of this processor.

 

Question: is there an option in the BIOS to activate Hyperthreading? I still have not found this. Or does this CPU not support Hyperthreading at all?

 

 

 

 

Greetings,

 

 

 

 

:-) Hannes

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

5884 Posts

11-24-2007

United States of America

12810 Signins

291275 Page Views

  • Posts: 5884
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 291275
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: D20 - no Hyperthreading with Xeon CPU ?

2009-10-11, 2:03 AM

welcome to the forum!

 

the xeon E5506 does not support hyperthreading.

 

http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=37096

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

28 Posts

06-04-2009

us

71 Signins

1272 Page Views

  • Posts: 28
  • Registered: ‎06-04-2009
  • Location: us
  • Views: 1272
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: D20 - no Hyperthreading with Xeon CPU ?

2009-11-24, 15:37 PM
Hi all, One more question about this while hyperthreading thing, I just upgrade to the latest bios and there is a hyperthreadig enable/disable option? If there is no hyperthreading on the xeon processors, then does this option do nothing? ap
Reply
Options

5884 Posts

11-24-2007

United States of America

12810 Signins

291275 Page Views

  • Posts: 5884
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 291275
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: D20 - no Hyperthreading with Xeon CPU ?

2009-11-24, 15:48 PM

if the option appears in the BIOS and the processor(s) you have don't support hyperthreading then the setting won't do anything.   hyperthreading support is enabled/disabled in the processor itself.   the BIOS simply turns the function on or off if it's available.

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms