Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit our eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkStationThinkStation Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

9 Posts

09-05-2019

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

4 Signins

93 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎09-05-2019
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 93
  • Message 1 of 10

Do I need to install Windows 10 1903?

2019-09-08, 16:10 PM

I took delivery of my new ThinkStation (P330) on Friday Sept 6.

I've installed a few things on it so far, but not started the process of copying over all my data from my old Lenovo PC or installing all other software yet.

Should I proceed with the Windows 10 1903 update that is available when I run Windows Update -> Check for Updates? Or leave it for now?

If the answer is to update now, do I need to create a restore point? And if so how?

Sorry for the dumb question, but I'm new to Windows 10.

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

4137 Posts

12-11-2015

United States of America

4498 Signins

51007 Page Views

  • Posts: 4137
  • Registered: ‎12-11-2015
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 51007
  • Message 2 of 10

Re: Do I need to install Windows 10 1903?

2019-09-08, 18:43 PM

You are going to have to upgrade to 1903 at some point, so there is no time like the present.   

 

I would recommend that you first update all the device drivers etc. for your system using Lenovo System Update, because that will ensure that any drivers needed for 1903 compatibility are in place before the upgrade.    

 

 

Cheers, 

Reply
Options

9 Posts

09-05-2019

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

4 Signins

93 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎09-05-2019
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 93
  • Message 3 of 10

Re: Do I need to install Windows 10 1903?

2019-09-09, 8:07 AM

Thanks, I'd already run all updates via the Lenovo program. I'll run them again before performing this update, but do I need to create a restore point or anything like that before running the OS update? And if so, how do I do it in Windows 10?

Reply
Options

49 Posts

05-14-2015

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

67 Signins

835 Page Views

  • Posts: 49
  • Registered: ‎05-14-2015
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 835
  • Message 4 of 10

Re: Do I need to install Windows 10 1903?

2019-09-09, 8:51 AM

I would strongly recommend creating your own restore points even though windows does so also.
There is no harm in doing so only benefits.

 

just search for create restore point.   There are a few entry points into this process e.g control panel, system, system protection

Reply
Options

9 Posts

09-05-2019

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

4 Signins

93 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎09-05-2019
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 93
  • Message 5 of 10

Re: Do I need to install Windows 10 1903?

2019-09-09, 8:53 AM

Can you point me in the right direction for how to do this in Windows 10?

 

I just don't want to mess up in any way of form.

 

I held off updating the OS on my old Windows 8.1 desktop because of the issues colleagues had doing the same on their systems. So only wanted to switch to Windows 10 on a fresh system, and lo and behold an OS update is due... ;)

Reply
Options

9 Posts

09-05-2019

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

4 Signins

93 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎09-05-2019
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 93
  • Message 6 of 10

Re: Do I need to install Windows 10 1903?

2019-09-09, 8:56 AM

Thanks just saw your reply after editing mine.

 

I'm hoping to get back to setting up my new desktop later this week after I get some jobs off my desk.

Reply
Options

49 Posts

05-14-2015

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

67 Signins

835 Page Views

  • Posts: 49
  • Registered: ‎05-14-2015
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 835
  • Message 7 of 10

Re: Do I need to install Windows 10 1903?

2019-09-09, 9:00 AM

I amended my original response.  It’s straight forward.  Once launched,  In the window ensure the c drive protection is set to on.  Highlight the c drive line and select configure and ensure there is space provided using the slider then select create provide a description.  That’s it. 

You may want to protect other drives however consider if their contents and therefore if required.    Hope this helps always awkward via a description.  

 

Many youtube videos available 

Reply
Options

49 Posts

05-14-2015

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

67 Signins

835 Page Views

  • Posts: 49
  • Registered: ‎05-14-2015
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 835
  • Message 8 of 10

Re: Do I need to install Windows 10 1903?

2019-09-09, 9:04 AM

I like windows 10, but my recommendation is to always use the pro version.   It’s quite stable however I have recently experienced blue screens on a p900 post 1903 patching with feature updates.  

 

So restorepoints make recovery “comfortable” !!!! ?

Reply
Options

4137 Posts

12-11-2015

United States of America

4498 Signins

51007 Page Views

  • Posts: 4137
  • Registered: ‎12-11-2015
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 51007
  • Message 9 of 10

Re: Do I need to install Windows 10 1903?

2019-09-09, 9:35 AM

To create a system restore point

 

  • Click Start and type Control Panel  and Select Control Panel from the list of search results to open.  (Tip:  Right click on the search result and select "Pin to Taskbar" for easy access in the future)
  • Select the System and Security Category, and then select System  
  • Select System Protection from the left pane of "System Information" window to open the "System Protection" tab of the System Properties window 
  • If you have more than HDD/SSD drive, from the "Protection Settings window", select the drive that contains the OS (System), and then select Configure
  • Ensure that "Turn on system protection" is enabled
  • Using the slider, increase that space allocated for System Restore points to about 50GB of drive space.   (you can allocate less space, but 50GB is will allow you to save about 10 restore points before the system begins overwriting them)
  • Click Create, give the restore point a descriptive name, and then select create. 

 

Cheers,

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

9 Posts

09-05-2019

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

4 Signins

93 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎09-05-2019
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 93
  • Message 10 of 10

Re: Do I need to install Windows 10 1903?

2019-09-09, 9:37 AM

Thank you all! :)

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms