Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
NattyH
Paper Tape
Views: 241
Message 1 of 10

Do I need to install Windows 10 1903?

I took delivery of my new ThinkStation (P330) on Friday Sept 6.

I've installed a few things on it so far, but not started the process of copying over all my data from my old Lenovo PC or installing all other software yet.

Should I proceed with the Windows 10 1903 update that is available when I run Windows Update -> Check for Updates? Or leave it for now?

If the answer is to update now, do I need to create a restore point? And if so how?

Sorry for the dumb question, but I'm new to Windows 10.

JDGillis
Bit Torrent
Views: 221
Message 2 of 10

Re: Do I need to install Windows 10 1903?

You are going to have to upgrade to 1903 at some point, so there is no time like the present.   

I would recommend that you first update all the device drivers etc. for your system using Lenovo System Update, because that will ensure that any drivers needed for 1903 compatibility are in place before the upgrade.    

Cheers, 

NattyH
Paper Tape
Views: 197
Message 3 of 10

Thanks, I'd already run all updates via the Lenovo program. I'll run them again before performing this update, but do I need to create a restore point or anything like that before running the OS update? And if so, how do I do it in Windows 10?

Highlighted
namyacs
Token Ring
Views: 192
Message 4 of 10

I would strongly recommend creating your own restore points even though windows does so also.
There is no harm in doing so only benefits.

just search for create restore point.   There are a few entry points into this process e.g control panel, system, system protection

NattyH
Paper Tape
Views: 190
Message 5 of 10

Can you point me in the right direction for how to do this in Windows 10?

I just don't want to mess up in any way of form.