English Community

ThinkStationThinkStation Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

1 Posts

05-09-2020

US

4 Signins

10 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎05-09-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 10
  • Message 1 of 4

Fan Control on ThinkStations

2020-05-11, 12:04 PM

Hello,

 

Is there a way to control fans on ThinkStations? I have thinkstation P330 and I might want to turn up fans for an hour. I have a device(PCIe board with two NVMes) inside that gets too hot and slows down. I think if I bump up fans speed I can cool down the interior. 

 

https://askubuntu.com/questions/1238028/how-to-control-fan-speed-on-thinkstation-by-lenovo

 

Thank you!

Reply
Options

784 Posts

01-14-2014

US

1958 Signins

13904 Page Views

  • Posts: 784
  • Registered: ‎01-14-2014
  • Location: US
  • Views: 13904
  • Message 2 of 4

Re:Fan Control on ThinkStations

2020-05-11, 13:24 PM

There is an option in the P330 BIOS to adjust the fan speed settings to a certain extent. To do so, boot into BIOS F1 setup -> "Power" menu tab -> "Intelligent Cooling Engine (ICE)" option. You can change the ICE performance mode option to "Better Acoustic Performance", "Better Thermal Performance", or "Full Speed". 

 

Obviously, the "Better Acoustic Performance" will adjust the fans down low, whereas "Better Thermal Performance" will adjust the fan speeds up a bit. "Full Speed" will just max out all the fan speeds in the system, which will also likely be very noisy.

Reply
Options

3 Posts

05-20-2020

US

2 Signins

50 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎05-20-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 50
  • Message 3 of 4

Re:Fan Control on ThinkStations

2020-05-21, 13:59 PM

Is it correct to think that Thinkstations do not allow for fan speed control from the OS being Linux or Windows and the only control we have is at boot and static speed?

Reply
Options

784 Posts

01-14-2014

US

1958 Signins

13904 Page Views

  • Posts: 784
  • Registered: ‎01-14-2014
  • Location: US
  • Views: 13904
  • Message 4 of 4

Re:Fan Control on ThinkStations

2020-05-21, 15:37 PM

That's correct.  We don't have an ability for customers to adjust the fan speeds from within the OS.  

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete