Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkStationThinkStation Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

36 Posts

04-25-2015

Australia

35 Signins

240 Page Views

  • Posts: 36
  • Registered: ‎04-25-2015
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 240
  • Message 1 of 6

Help me choose a proper m.2 SSD for my P500 workstation.

2017-10-16, 4:37 AM

Hi, When I bought my P500 in Mar 2015, I chose a m.2 SSD pre-installed. the part I had is "Lenovo SSD M.2 2280 PCIe  FRU  SSD 256GB   Samsung M.2 2280 PCIe XP941-256"

 

 

I did a bit research and seems the pre-installed SSD is PCIe based but doesn't support NVMe. The flex adaptor can only support one PCIe SSD, but slot 2 only support SATA m.2 SSD.

 

Am I understand it correctly?

 

My question comes down to whether my computer support NVMe? can I buy a m.2 SSD with NVMe support? say Samsung 960 Pro?

 

Thanks

Regards

Branchus

 

Reply
Answer
Options

5198 Posts

02-22-2010

United States of America

3674 Signins

51400 Page Views

  • Posts: 5198
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 51400

Re: Help me choose a proper m.2 SSD for my P500 workstation.

2017-10-18, 17:50 PM

Actually we would recommend having BIOS (or just the storage CSM depending on your BIOS settings) set to UEFI mode if you intend to use NVMe.  While I think you'll probably get the drive to function just fine under Legacy mode, we (and Intel) only officially support NVMe with UEFI.

 

So, in BIOS setup, there are two ways to accomplish that:

1.  Set OS Optimized Defaults to enabled (this is the typical setting for win10)

2.  Or if OS Optimized Defaults is disabled, then go to startup-->CSM configuration--> change the storage OPROM setting to UEFI.

 

 




If we've helped resolve your issue, please be sure to mark your topic as solved!
Reply

Replies(5)
Options

5198 Posts

02-22-2010

United States of America

3674 Signins

51400 Page Views

  • Posts: 5198
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 51400
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: Help me choose a proper m.2 SSD for my P500 workstation.

2017-10-16, 18:54 PM

I think most of your statements are accurate.  If I remember correctly, the XP941 was limited to gen2 x4, and it was an AHCI based PCIe drive, as opposed to the NVMe based PCIe drives that are popular now.

 

You're also correct that you are limited to a single slot of PCIe support via the FLEX adapter.  This is because there are only 4 PCIe lanes routed to that connector in P500.  Slot 2 should support M.2 SATA drives.

 

As for which drive to use, there are a number of options out there now.  The Samsung drives seem to be the most popular overall.  If you want to stick to drives that are officially qualified on P500, then your best bet is likely the SM951 drive from Samsung.  This was the last officially qualified M.2 NVMe drive on that platform.

 

The 960 Pro you referenced is basically the consumer version of the SM961 drive I believe (both based on the Polaris controller if memory serves).  Neither was officially qualified, but both should technically function OK in P500.

 

You should see a performance gain in going from the XP941 to the SM951 mainly due to the increase in PCIe support (from gen2 to gen3).  

 

 




If we've helped resolve your issue, please be sure to mark your topic as solved!
Reply
Options

36 Posts

04-25-2015

Australia

35 Signins

240 Page Views

  • Posts: 36
  • Registered: ‎04-25-2015
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 240
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: Help me choose a proper m.2 SSD for my P500 workstation.

2017-10-16, 22:09 PM
Thank you very much psuturtle

Can I also ask after I switch from AHCI PCIe SSD to NVMe SSD, do I need to change any settings in BIOS/UEFI?

Thanks
JH
Reply
Options

5884 Posts

11-24-2007

United States of America

12810 Signins

291275 Page Views

  • Posts: 5884
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 291275
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: Help me choose a proper m.2 SSD for my P500 workstation.

2017-10-18, 16:29 PM

No BIOS changes for the SSD itself are necessary when changing from an AHCI PCIe to NVMe PCIe SSD. The only change might be in Windows if you're cloning from the AHCI drive to the NVMe. Personally, I would install Windows fresh if possible. You'll also want the appropriate NVMe driver (if availble) for your particular SSD.

 

As a data point, I've had two Samsung 960 PROs (512 and 2TB) in my P700 for a few months now and they've been flawless so far. They've managed close to 6TB written without errors in a pure CAD/DCC environment.

 

Edited for clarity. I was thinking SSD specific settings, not overall BIOS. UEFI mode with NVMe was assumed.

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

Reply
Answer
Options

5198 Posts

02-22-2010

United States of America

3674 Signins

51400 Page Views

  • Posts: 5198
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 51400
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: Help me choose a proper m.2 SSD for my P500 workstation.

2017-10-18, 17:50 PM

Actually we would recommend having BIOS (or just the storage CSM depending on your BIOS settings) set to UEFI mode if you intend to use NVMe.  While I think you'll probably get the drive to function just fine under Legacy mode, we (and Intel) only officially support NVMe with UEFI.

 

So, in BIOS setup, there are two ways to accomplish that:

1.  Set OS Optimized Defaults to enabled (this is the typical setting for win10)

2.  Or if OS Optimized Defaults is disabled, then go to startup-->CSM configuration--> change the storage OPROM setting to UEFI.

 

 




If we've helped resolve your issue, please be sure to mark your topic as solved!

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

36 Posts

04-25-2015

Australia

35 Signins

240 Page Views

  • Posts: 36
  • Registered: ‎04-25-2015
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 240
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: Help me choose a proper m.2 SSD for my P500 workstation.

2017-10-18, 22:10 PM

Thank you

I'm using windows 10 and Linux, so probably I won't set OS Optimized defaults to enable.

 

I had a look at the BIOS, if I set CSM configuration to Disable, then the storage oprom is default to UEFI and I cannot change this. in the help section, it says, if you set CSM configuration to disable, it will only compatible to windows 8 and up, in my case, should be OK.

 

Thank you all

Regards

Branchus  

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms